Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,389
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Floppy drive to A600 Help - brands

    Hi everyone,
    I will buy one A600 that has a broken floppy drive.
    I have to buy a new floppy.
    An old Floppy could be really expensive, i read that actual pc floppys can be adaptated.

    I read that this brands can work in a Amiga:

    Sony MPF520-1
    CHINON FZ-357 -------> this one i think the most used one but is expensive...
    Sony MPF420-1
    Sony MPF920-3
    TEAC FD-235HF 3217
    TEAC FD-235H 5240
    TEAC FD-235HF 7291 e Sony MPF-920E
    TEAC FD-235HF 7291
    Panasonic JU-257 A606
    Panasonic JU-257 A606
    Panasonic JU-253 043P

    Do you know anything about them?
    What stores do you know?
    Thank you
    Tiago

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I have no experience of adapting a PC floppy drive to work in an Amiga.

    One issue you must take into account is high density (HD) drives. Escom used adapted PC HD floppy drives in the last A1200's they made and these caused a lot of compatibility issues, especially with games as many use their own custom disk file structures and the HD Floppy drives just couldn't read them.

    So if you are going to try this make sure it is a Double Density (DD) drive you buy and not a High Density (HD) drive.

    Personally I would source an Actual Amiga floppy drive from ebay. Many people sell of the parts from broken Amigas so you can often find drives for sale. Alternatively you can take the drive out of an external Amiga floppy drive and use that inside the Amiga to replace the original.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,389
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes i will install a DD Floppy.

    I found one TEAC FD-235HF 1 hour ago here in Portugal for 4 euros, i think i will buy it and see if i can modify it to work with the A600, it seems i have only to change some jumpers on the drive.

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    If that is all that is required then that is a good solution.

    Please let us know if you manage to get that to work as it will be a very useful piece of information for Amiga owners, especially as the Amiga starts to get older as more drives will start to fail.

    If you find this does work then I will add the information to the main site's FAQs to help out others with a similar problem.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,389
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    If that is all that is required then that is a good solution.

    Please let us know if you manage to get that to work as it will be a very useful piece of information for Amiga owners, especially as the Amiga starts to get older as more drives will start to fail.

    If you find this does work then I will add the information to the main site's FAQs to help out others with a similar problem.

    Sure Harrison, but as i told you, i do not have yet the A600, i will buy it in a few days, but i am allready reading info about the floppy.

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Couldn't you therefore find one that has a working Floppy drive instead and buy that? The A600 doesn't go for much these days, although it does fetch more than an A500. Strange considering it's actually not as popular.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,389
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Couldn't you therefore find one that has a working Floppy drive instead and buy that? The A600 doesn't go for much these days, although it does fetch more than an A500. Strange considering it's actually not as popular.
    Well i see your point but, i will get the A600 almoust free. I have one Hard-disk in home that i could use. The A600 dimensions are quite better then A500 or A600 (space is something i dont have). So i will just spend some money in the floppy.
    But off course i would prefer a A1200...

  8. #8
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,389
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    As i told before i bought the A1200, not the A600.

    My internal drive was with problems, but it was easy, i just open tha amiga and the cable was not well plug. So it's fine now.

    But i bought a Sony MPF920 floppy to see if it worked.... i did as i read... cross the cable pin #2 with #34, but the Sony MPF920 had to be model 3, and this one was a newer model, so it didnt work. :-(
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  9. #9
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    That is annoying. Is it possible to easily tell if it is a model 3 before purchase? Or is it a bit hit and miss?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #10
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,389
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    That is annoying. Is it possible to easily tell if it is a model 3 before purchase? Or is it a bit hit and miss?
    The drive must be a:
    Sony MPF920-3 but the one i got was:
    Sony MPF920 (it did not have the -3) so, it is a different model, this one dont have jumpers....

    4 euros down the toilet.... but i will not give up, till i found a compatible drive.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

Similar Threads

  1. How many floppy disks did/do you own?
    By Harrison in forum Software
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 20th June 2010, 21:25
  2. Old mouse brands?
    By Agram in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd July 2007, 01:26
  3. A600 hard disk problem.
    By wilsonsamm in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st May 2007, 09:47
  4. Farewell to the floppy disk
    By AlexJ in forum General Chat
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 3rd February 2007, 18:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com