Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Competent Inactive Member
    My location

Downloads
    Uploads

Installing games to A1200 HD

Hi everyone
    I was looking for advice on transferring amiga games on disk to the hard drive of my A1200. I have zero knowledge of programming so I need some 'explain it to me like I'm a child' tutorial. Can anyone direct me to such a thing if it exists?
    I have looked at WHDload but im a bit (substitute very) confused - do you install this program to the PC or the Amiga HD and if you have games on disk how do you get them from the disk onto the Amiga HD? I also stumbled across info on ADF files as a common format - am i right in thinking that this is the file type used by Amiga disks and if I was to copy an ADF file from my PC onto a 720kb disk that the Amiga would be able to load it? I bet its not that easy...
    Help!
    [I]Such heroic nonsense[/I]

Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads
    OK. First I will explain ADF files to you.

An ADF (Amiga Disk Format) is a track by track file image of the original Amiga floppy disk. These were invented because only Amiga floppy drive controllers are capable of reading or writing real Amiga formatted floppy disks. So the ADF image format was made so that emulators could access them.

It is possible to read ADF files on a real Amiga, but only if they are disks accessible from workbench. You can get a device driver that allows you to mount ADF files on an Amiga so they then appear in Workbench as a virtual floppy disk (much like mounting a CD ISO images in a virtual drive on the PC). But as I said, this is limited only to accessing standard Amiga DOS formatted floppies, so you cannot access most game ADFs as they use special custom formats. (If you did want to try this you can get this device driver from Aminet in the http://aminet.net/disk/misc area).