Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    For sale: RocGen Genlock

    I never actually got round to using this.

    You can have it for the postage cost if you want it. Sold as untested.

    More info: http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/v...39464&forum=21

    Cheers
    Steve

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Does it include any sellotape hacks?

    How come you never used it? It can be great fun playing around with a genlock. You should definitely have some fun with it before you get rid of it.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    No Sellotape.

    I suppose could have a mess about with it when I can set a VCR up with the amiga.

    Actually, I do have a VCR and a monitor and an A500+ setup at my Dad's house which I could use.

  4. #4
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I finally got it working.

    It has a socket on the back fora 12volt DC power supply, but it didn't come with one. But if I plug it into the RGB socket, even without a power supply, the lights come on. So, using a soldering iron, a bit of spare wire and sellotape (for insulation), I conected two wires to it, and then connected those to the 12v supply from an ATX power supply, and nothing happened.

    So, I connected it to the video recorder and to the A500+ (and not a power supply), and it works fine. I can now word process stuff in Pen Pal and have the television as a background. There are lots of conbinations of pictures you can have using the AMIGA and VIDEO dials on the front.

    Has anyone else here used the RocGen? (Or any other genlock for that matter)

  5. #5
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Watch this for a basic look at what the Genloc can do. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YyMB...eature=related
    I've always wondered what a genloc is so I can't help you on what they can do i'm afraid.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Yep, I used to use genlocks and chromakeyers all the time when I used to work with analogue video editing equipment. At the time it was really cool being able to create some graphics on the Amiga and then overlay them on top of a video source, and being able to control a dissolve (or fade) of the graphics.

    But these days much more advanced versions of both are built into most good post Non Linear video editing (NLE) applications and post production software. I tend to use Combustion and After Effects for such things these days, and sometimes Premiere for quick things that don't need much work. As an example, with software these days you can refine the colour key for blue or green screen removal and refine it but selecting addition colours to remove exactly what you need. And also to then remove the colour cast that always happens when something is positioned in front of a coloured background. You can also feather the edges between the colour being keyed and the object to soften the edges and reduce the appearance of two sources being overlaid. And for genlocking type work, with something like Adobe After Effects you can just render the graphics or titles with a black background which contains an alpha channel and seemlessly overlay it over multiple video sources in a video editing package.

    Of course, back in the Amiga days, all of this was completely beyond current technology, and if someone had shown me what today's video editing packages can do I would have stood open mouthed for hours staring!

    For those that don't know what genlocking or chromakeying are:

    A genlock is a device that mixes multiple video sources together. For Amiga genlocks this means you can overlay the Amiga graphical output over a video source. This was often used for adding titles and subtitles to a video, or to add graphics to video, such as a logo.



    One of the best Genlocks every made for the Amiga was the GVP G-Lock. This is what I used to use at college. It had a nice selection of ports and could even work with a S-Video source, and all of it's features were software controlled from the Amiga so you could time fades and other effects.

    Another make that were quite good were Hama. Hama made a lot of affordable home video equipment for video editing and their Amiga genlocks offered a lot of nice features including proper fader controls and mixing dials.

    Another device that was available for the Amiga is called a Chromakey. This does the opposite of a genlock. Instead over overlaying Amiga graphics on top of a video source, a chromakey will replace a colour within the video source with Amiga graphics. This is how bluescreen works as you set the chromakey to "key out" the blue, and this is then replaced with the Amiga graphics. Exactly how weather forecasts are done.



    This is what a Chroma-key or Luma-key unit looks like. As you can see you have three dials and can adjust them to match the colour you wish to key the graphics too, so you can fine tune the colour it is keyed too to match the background you used for the best results.

    BTW Steve, which RocGen model do you have? The original one was meant to be quite unreliable and lost it's colour quite often, but I think the later RocGen Plus was much better.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    What is the connector on the end of that wire on the GVP one? Does it connect to the joystick port?

    I have the RocGen Plus, and as I said, the quality is quite good, but obviously not as good as RGB. If I wanted graphics on top of a video, I would most likely use Adobe Premier. Genlocks are fun for messing about though, and I suppose they might still be suitable if you had a really good one.

    Am I right in thinking that the RocKey connects to the RocGen? I think I read somewhere that it does, and the RocGen does have a 'Key In' socket on the back. I'm not sure what it would actually do though if you did connect them together.

  8. #8
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Yes, the RocKey does connect to the RocGen, although it can also be used with most other Amiga keygens that support a keying input.

    The cable on the G-Lock is indeed a joystick connect that you plug into the Amiga's joystick port and the GVP software uses this to control the Genlock via software.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #9
    Average Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Tattooine, er OK then, Manchester
    Posts
    134
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    @ Stephen

    Is this still up for grabs or have you found a use for it?

    Ta

    Merlin
    Old Amigas never die, they just get modded....

  10. #10
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I have set it up and been using it a little, but I don't really have any need for it. So I suppose it might still be up for grabs if anyone wants it.

    Although I do quite fancy getting the RocKey to use with it.

Similar Threads

  1. Nice N64 collection for sale on ebay
    By Harrison in forum 32/64bit (5th Gen Era)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 19th March 2007, 12:27

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com