Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14

    Are you using Linux at the moment?

    Are you using any version of Linux on one of your systems at the moment? And if so what Distro of Linux are you using? and on what platform are you running it?

    Also what are you using it for? Gaming? Server? Main OS? Or just to mess around with it and see what you can do?

    For me, at the moment I have Fedora Core 5 installed on one of my systems, setup to dual boot with Windows XP. I use this for messing around with the OS, to test out some of the Emulators available for Linux, and to try out some of the other software available, and to generally learn about the OS as I use it.

    I also had SUSE 10 installed for a while but not at the moment. I quite liked SUSE and it was easier to setup that most other Distros, and comes with a lot of software, as does Fedora.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #2
    Average Vangar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newcastle Australia
    Posts
    100
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I had ubuntu on this system for a while, but it wasn't something i'd wish to keep with. I just recently downloaded LinuxMint, and i'll tell you how that goes when i give it a whirl.

  3. #3
    ELITE VIP
    My location

    AlexJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,262
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I've got a Kubuntu box which I just use for general webbrowsing and occasional wordprocessing.

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    If and when I get a PS3 I will be very tempted to put Linux on it.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    Average Vangar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newcastle Australia
    Posts
    100
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I just tried linuxmint, and its pretty good. it has all the software you could want prepackaged, and XGL libraries installed ready to go. Beryl is awesome, but useless :P.

  6. #6
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I like to use Debian on older Macs. It is the only distribution I can ever get to work properly on Old World Macs.

    As for x86, I still can't be bothered to sort out my hard drives. Maybe I should just get a new one.

  7. #7
    Harmless hipoonios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes, using Debian Linux here

  8. #8
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,028
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    Hi Hipoonios and welcome to the new forum! Hope you like it. Anyway, I'm not currently using Linux on any of my systems. I actually have only one system here in England as the rest is packed and stored away in Norway. The nearest I get is having AROS available for usage, which is a nice piece of OS.

  9. #9
    Harmless Inactive Member
    My location

    esalv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Are you using Linux at the moment?

    Right now I'm updating Kubuntu Feisty on my rotten PC.

    Erik

  10. #10
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I was thinking of getting a flash drive to put linux on to use with this PC (not my own), but then remembered that it had a winmodem. I know it is possible to get some winmodems to work in linux but as far as i know it's not as easy as a proper modem.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com