Poll: Do you still own Amigas today?

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 109
  1. #11
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,654
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    A500 in the loft at my Mum's house. Last time i tried it the graphics output was a bit shifty, certain games had really flickery sprites which it didn't do before.

  2. #12
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Did you have the A500 connected via the crappy external modulator? If so that's probably the only reason for the graphics looking a bit crap. Those A520 modulators don't tend to last as long as the actual Amigas and definitely don't like loft conditions.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #13
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,654
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I was using the A520 modulator yes, but remembered that even new, they were rubbish. So to test it I tried using the monochrome composite output on the back of the A500 and the sprite flickering still occured. It was odd as some games didn't do it at all, but others did it like crazy (and some games would be fine for a bit, then shifty for a bit, seemingly at random).

  4. #14
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Sounds like a dry joint on one of the custom chips. Or some condensation in the system.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #15
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,654
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    The loft was very warm and dry so shouldn't be condensation (it could be, but unlikely I suppose) so a dry joint sounds very possible. I did the old flexing the case trick as I heard it can help the chips fall back into their seat if they have popped out slightly - but then somone else said that this was a bit of a myth.

    Either way, I'm not overly fussed at the moment, I have UAE fo any pressing Ami needs. Maybe I'll open it up and have a look but the chances are I'd struggle to find a problem let alone fix it.

  6. #16
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    The old case flexing trick was for the Atari ST, and did often work. Mine got a bit flaky towards the end of its life and that did often get it to work.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #17
    Harmless Inactive Member
    fudster's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Smile Still Have

    I still have my Amiga 2000 and 2500

    Which I will never sell.

    Franco

  8. #18
    The Darth Popsicle! VIP
    Bug Champion Sharingan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Olanda!
    Posts
    1,083
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Still have an A500, and A1200 w/ 120 MB harddrive somewhere. I haven't touched either of them in a looong time (and I seriously doubt they even work anymore), but I'm tempted to give them a try again one of these days.

    Then, there's the problem of the floppy disks - still have boxes full of them, but I bet at least 90% of them have become unreadable by now

  9. #19
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    You might be surprised. Most of my old disks still work perfectly and I bet at leas the A1200 still works. The A500 might, but they tend to suffer a bit more and have some motherboard or chip issues.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #20
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,014
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    Sharingan wrote:

    Then, there's the problem of the floppy disks - still have boxes full of them, but I bet at least 90% of them have become unreadable by now
    Hi Sharingan,

    Do you have any old obscure demos, packs, intros or any other demoscene related stuff in those boxes? Would be very interested to hear about it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com