Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Harmless iNVADER84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Gotek in External Floppy Enclosure A600

    Just got a Gotek for mrs A600 which I知 currently refurbishing to its former mediocre glory. I don稚 really like the look of the Gotek inside the A600 so looking to buy an old external Amiga floppy enclosure and fit it into that. I believe there will differences with the connections however and as I知 fairly new to the scene would a give be able to point me in the right direction? Will I need to take power from inside the A600 or is it provided by the external floppy connector?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    The Gotek should be able to swap out the existing drive from an Amiga external floppy drive enclosure. They are designed to be a direct replacement, and if the original drive was powered from the Amiga it should remain the same.

    Just remember in an external enclosure it will be DF1: and not DF0: so won't boot games from the Gotek.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Harmless iNVADER84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thankyou for the reply. As an alternative I知 considering mounting the Gotek internally. Is there a guide on how to do this? All options I found seem to use a 3D printed bracket but not a lot of direct info for for the A600, just trying to keep it as neat as possible!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    It depends if you want to keep the case original or don't mind modifying it.

    I went the modification route and altered the drive opening so the Gotek's LCD was fully visible and the buttons accessible. I had already modded the case for other things, plus had the advantage of a spare A600 case if I ever wanted to return the A600 to original.

    If you don't want to modify the case then the 3D printed mounting brackets are probably the best option. The only other way without modding the case is a long floppy drive cable passed out through the drive slot, with the drive sitting outside the case. Doesn't look pretty but the cheapest and easiest option.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,091
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    It's a pixel thing guy has a video where he installs one, watched that recently:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JaTr1UNJfU&t=329s

Similar Threads

  1. Amiga 500 SD HXC or Gotek?
    By Flying Penguin in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd February 2016, 01:09
  2. Gotek drive for Amiga
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th June 2015, 08:59
  3. External Floppy
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd November 2010, 16:46
  4. 3.5" Drive enclosure
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th July 2008, 14:37
  5. Floppy drive to A600 Help - brands
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th September 2007, 11:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com