Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Printing costs and purchased a new printer.

I've been running a Samsung laser all-in-one printer for the last 3+ years. Great printer with fast colour printing and good quality results.

Toner is never cheap but the cartridges in this one last about 2500 pages, so l only needing to replace them once a year. Maybe more for the black as my wife prints a lot as a teacher. Cost was about £35-40 per cartridge, so a full set of 3 colours and black would set you back about £160. Not cheap but compared to the cost of printing the same number of pages on an inkjet and it worked out much cheaper.

Anyway, we suddenly needed to replace all 3 colour toners and I discovered the cost of the cartridges has shot up. Not sure why, but they are now over £60 each everywhere. That would be £180. Or £240 for a full set. More than the printer was new.

So I decided to see if there were any newer printers with much lower running costs. Laser toner is always expensive, but thr quality is great and the print speed is very nice. But there are these new business inkjets that look like lasers and claim to print as fast and with nearly the same quality. Apparently they use a page wide printhead to achieve this so it doesn't need to move across the page, which also makes it quieter.

If heard of the Epson Workforce printers which started this new type of business inkjet, but knew HP also did one. However reading reviews people were saying they were still not that cheap to run. But after much research i came across one I've now purchased.

Brother MFC-J6930DW

I've never owned a Brother printer so had nothing to base it on other than all the reviews and customer comments. Cheap running costs and fast printing.