Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38
  1. #31
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,507
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    When picking a CPU be careful and read all the specs because they are not all the same. F.ex. some 7th gen i5s were only dual core, not quad.

    The 8th generation processors are better, with much faster GPUs that can run many recent games in fairly high settings. They are also more efficient and have lower TDP. Some such as the mobile aimed U8250U is a very nice CPU with a TDP of only 15W, rising to 25W under full Turbo boost load. Compare that with the other i5s in the 8th gen and they have a TDP of 45W. And older chips that were up to 95W. Could be a good chip for a SFF setup.

    https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/.../i5-8250u.html

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #32
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,076
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I've ordered a Core i5-8500 from Novatech.

    The mobile chips do look very good, but aren't really available as retail options. This reminds me; did many people ever put Pentium M processors in desktop builds? I seem to recall reading about it many years ago as they seemed like a good alternative to the P4.

    Now I need to find some memory. Does it go faster if it has RGB lighting?

  3. #33
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,507
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    For ram stick with a known brand. I always buy Crucial ram as they are normally very good prices and work as intended. They also do matched pairs for dual channel setups.

    BTW, systems always go faster with some decent lighting! Just like cars do. ;-)

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #34
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,097
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    For me so far I'm lately (over last 10 years) sticking to G.E.I.L. RAM, price quality here is top notch too, and they're very reliable.

  5. #35
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,507
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I've used Geil ram before when it was on offer. Seemed good, but I did have a failure of some I used in a system I built for someone else. On be thing I like about Crucial is the lifetime warranty.
    Last edited by Harrison; 12th December 2018 at 17:54.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  6. #36
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,076
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I ordered two 8GB sticks of Crucial memory. Its the bog standard Crucial one as opposed to the Ballistix.

    Harrison, have you had to use Crucial's warranty before? I had a Crucial stick fail back in 2012 after two years so had to get them changed.

  7. #37
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,507
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    i did have some fail in a system I'd built for someone else. But because I buy all my hardware from Novatech, and I live fairly close to their main store, I returned it there and they replaced it without question.

    Same happened with a Thermaltake 700W PSU. It was working fine but would not power off. When you shut the system down it would power down the System and HD but the fans would keep spinning and the motherboard power light remained on. Had that about 2 years before returning it. Had to wait a week for them to test it, but then they rang me to say it was faulty and they offered me slightly more than I originally paid to pick a new one from their current range.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #38
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,616
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I had to use Crucial warranty to get a stick of RAM replaced but it was very easy and they were very good about it.

Similar Threads

  1. WinFellow Alpha v0.5.1 build 880
    By Demon Cleaner in forum Amiga Emulators
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th April 2013, 17:04
  2. I might build a new PC
    By Stephen Coates in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 17th April 2012, 00:39
  3. WinFellow alpha v0.4.4 build 3
    By Demon Cleaner in forum Amiga Emulators
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th October 2010, 21:57
  4. WinUAE 1.5.0 Beta 10 (Build 2008.03.24)
    By Demon Cleaner in forum WinUAE
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th March 2008, 13:56
  5. WinUAE 1.5.0 Beta 9 (Build 2008.03.22)
    By Demon Cleaner in forum WinUAE
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th March 2008, 13:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com