Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,104
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Windows 7 Slowness

    As a follow on to my Vista slowness thread, here is one about Windows 7.

    My Dad has an HP laptop with Windows 7. I tried to use it today to set something up in Thunderbird. Thunderbird took ages to load up (well over a minute), but when it did finally load, it was nice and snappy. Likewise, Firefox took way too long to load.

    From what I gathered by looking at the Task Manager, it looked like the machine had ample RAM for these programmes.

    Any ideas? The one significant thing I did notice was that it appeared to have Trusteer Rapport installed, which is known to cause problems with system performance (or at least it was a few years ago when I last encountered it).

  2. #2
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,652
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I stopped using firefox a long time ago as it was becoming really slow to load and always wanted to update itself every bloody time it launched. It might have got better since then, perhaps?

    My win 7 install on the HTPC is becoming unbearably slow - it takes an age for anything to load (especially Kodi or browsers) but similar to your observation they run OK when finally launched.

    I'm gonna trash the whole install at some point and start with a fresh clean install. Does the slowness bother your dad? If not I'd recommend leaving it alone.

    - - - Updated - - -

    It's blatantly from too much porn though

  3. #3
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,387
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I stopped using firefox a long time ago as it was becoming really slow to load and always wanted to update itself every bloody time it launched. It might have got better since then, perhaps?
    No! Last 3 times i use it, both asked me for updates... 3 times in the same week
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  4. #4
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,104
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I'm surprised you found Firefox slow to load. I've recently installed it on my 'new' Pentium 4 laptop and it loads in under 10 seconds. It loads in under 5 seconds on my Linux box.

    I have noticed the automatic updates thing on my other Windows box, but I only use that every couple of months, so I wasn't surprised at it wanting to update itself. On this laptop, I've disabled automatic updates completely in Options/Advanced/Update. Firefox on my Linux box doesn't even have the option to update, as it is installed from the Debian repository.

    Does the slowness bother your dad? If not I'd recommend leaving it alone.
    He acknowledges that it is too slow, but he seems to work round it by setting the machine loading something up, then going to make a cup of tea.

  5. #5
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,104
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    This Windows 7 machine is back here for some maintenance. I've done away with the HP Bloatware, as well as AVG and some remnants of some McAffee stuff, and installed Microsoft Security Essentials.

    It seems to run quite nicely now. Thunderbird still takes its time to load though for some reason.

    I'm just running CCleaner to see what that does. I ran Windows Update last night and it tried to download about 1GB of updates, but half of them failed to install, and it looks like numerous other updates have failed over the years. I'll try and fix that later.

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    A backup and clean install might be better.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,104
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I was almost going to do that, but I decided I'd try and de-crap it first. Anyway, it seems to run more or less OK now.

Similar Threads

  1. Vista Slowness
    By Stephen Coates in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 11th April 2017, 23:31
  2. Upgrade Windows 1.0 to Windows 7!
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th March 2011, 11:15
  3. Windows 7
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 26th March 2009, 16:50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com