Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,050
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    The floppy drive had long been officially dead now. No system had come with one in some time. It reached a point where there really want much that could fit in a risk any more. Plus usb sticks and sdcards are so cheap these days.I

    The more worrying thing for me is the trend of removing Ethernet ports. Most new laptops don't have them. Got a bit stuck with my wife's last new one when she got it. It would not connect to Wi-Fi, saying it needed to download drivers, but it has no Ethernet port. Hmm..
    I like the nostalgic feeling of using floppies. A while ago I bought some new floppy disk labels from AmigaKit to make my collection look a bit nicer. Also got my hand on some "new" disks to copy recently released games and demos onto. Inserting them into the Amiga and hearing the loading sounds brings back memories. Having the same on an Amiga NG would make it a bit more "Amiga" I think.

    As for regular PC's, I can understand no floppy drive. Easier using a USB stick for example.
    Classicamiga.com Moderator/Demoscene Admin
    Member of the Amiga demo group Void
    Admin of Old School Game Blog

  2. #22
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,847
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Definitely isn't an Amiga without that iconic loading sound. Although I hated the constant click of the empty drive and always installed a noclick utility.

    But I have to admit my main 1200 and 600 both have Gotek drives these days because it's so much easier. Especially as I've converted a lot to adf files using my Kryoflux. But I still have another A1200 with a drive to load real disks.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #23
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,772
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I had never heard of a noclick utility.

    But then, as I never had a hard drive, there would not really have been any occasions when my A500 didn't have a disk in it.

  4. #24
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,847
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    It was a little program the loaded in the workbench start-up sequence. All my Amigas had HDDs so would boot into Workbench if no disks were inserted. Loudest drive was probably the A4000. Although it was drowned out by the even louder PSU. That was loud.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. Review of the AmigaOne X1000
    By Puni/Void in forum Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st March 2012, 12:32
  2. New Amiga - The AmigaOne X1000
    By Puni/Void in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th September 2010, 21:32
  3. AmigaOne: Impressive prices!
    By Puni/Void in forum Amiga
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th April 2008, 13:36
  4. AmigaOne XE-G4
    By Stephen Coates in forum Ebay Picks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th November 2007, 14:35

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com