Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,014
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    I got an AmigaOne XE G4

    I always fancied an AmigaOne of some kind. So, a few months ago, I bidded on one which came up on eBay, and won it for about 100 . It included the XE G4 motherboard, a graphics card, an IDE card, and a copy of AmigaOS 4.1.

    I haven't built it up into a working system yet (due to lack of components), but I did pinch the PSU from my main PC just to test it, and confirm that it does indeed work.

    After sitting around for a bit, I finally managed to get an ATX case for it. I was looking for something quite small, so I eventually settled on a Powercool 3060, which is quite small for a full ATX case. It got it for about 20. Its clearly not as well built as my main PC's Lian Li case, but it's still quite nice.

    Now I just need to get a PSU and an IDE hard drive (or maybe I should use compact flash/SSD?). I can probably recycle a CD/DVD drive and a floppy drive from my spare parts collection.

    I reckon I'll be having plenty of fun with this

    Here's the Powercool case (which can be used either as a desktop or tower):

    powercool3060.jpg

    Rear of the case with the motherboard fitted:

    powercool_rear.jpg

    Motherboard inside the case (but with no processor):

    amigaone_open.jpg

    The CPU card:

    cpu_card.jpg

    G4!

    g4.jpg

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,306
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Yoy got that for a nice price. Definitely use a SSD if you can.

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    862
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Well done fella. You got yourself a bit of a bargin there.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  4. #4
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,014
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I was surprised I managed to get it at a good price, as I have seen them go for much more in the past. Do they tend to sell for much these days? Now that there are newer/more modern AmigaOne models, I'd expect these to loose their value. Also, these G3/G4s do have a reputation for being a bit unreliable, although the seller did say that this one had been very stable.

    Funny to think that these are now 13 years old .

    Don't suppose anyone has a spare ATX PSU that they don't want?

    Is there much available in terms of IDE SSDs? Can't say I pay much attention to SSDs as I use hard disks pretty much everywhere.

  5. #5
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,306
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    An alternative is an ide to sata adapter.

    http://r.ebay.com/RTyyF9

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  6. #6
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    862
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen Coates View Post
    <snip>

    Funny to think that these are now 13 years old .

    <snip>
    Not so funny when I think back to buying my Amiga 3000D 26 years ago @ the tender age of 28....


    I do have an ATX kicking about if you're interested? - Antec True 550P <----click me!

    There is a 5.25" drive bay that comes with it. The PSU has a small plugged wire array that goes to this drive bay. On the front right corner, you can adjust the 12, 5 & 3.3V rails with a little pull out tool in the front panel. you can also fit a 3.5" device (Floppy, card reader) into the drive bay.

    It's heavy (Quality kit back in the day) but I don't have the original box for it, sry. - I'll find out the shipping costs for you if you PM me your delivery address details.

    **Edit**

    Bah! - I just tried my PSU tester on it & it's failed. It was okay when it went into store. I tried another 600W Corsair I have & that passes, so it isn't my tester at fault. Really sorry fella.
    Last edited by Kin Hell; 26th June 2016 at 14:10.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  7. #7
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,014
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Time for an update.

    I bought some parts for it a while back and got it all fitted in the case. I opted for a cheap refurbished IDE HDD in the end, and I got a Corsair PSU (can't remember the model off the top of my head).

    I had a play with the OS 4.1 which came with it, but I also recently bought a copy of OS 4.1 Final Edition from AmigaKit. It was nice and easy to install.

    Unfortunately, I'm having difficulty with it. When it boots up, it gets stuck on a blank Workbench Screen. Fortunately You can hold the mouse buttons down on boot up to get the option of booting without a startup-sequence, like you can on a classic Amiga.

    After commenting various things out in the startup-sequence, I narrowed it down to a problem with LoadMonDrvs, which is something to do with the graphics card drivers. I expect I'll be able to sort it out, but I haven't had chance to play with it any more yet.

    Meanwhile, here's a few pictures.

    This is the blank Workbench Screen which it gets stuck at on boot up.

    IMG_4343.jpg

    Here's the early startup control:

    IMG_4348.jpg

    IMG_4350.jpg

    IMG_4351.jpg

    This is the Kickstart screen which displays if no boot device is selected:

    IMG_4353.jpg

    AmigaOS 4.1 FE booted with no startup-sequence:

    IMG_4356.jpg

    Editing the startup-sequence in Ed:

    IMG_4357.jpg

Similar Threads

  1. Review of the AmigaOne X1000
    By Puni/Void in forum Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st March 2012, 11:32
  2. New Amiga - The AmigaOne X1000
    By Puni/Void in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th September 2010, 20:32
  3. AmigaOne: Impressive prices!
    By Puni/Void in forum Amiga
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th April 2008, 12:36
  4. AmigaOne XE-G4
    By Stephen Coates in forum Ebay Picks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th November 2007, 13:35

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com