Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Apparently the internal IDE Zip drivers had the worst failure rates with the famous "click of death". The most reliable were the SCSI version.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #12
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,354
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    btw, i have an internal ZIP drive (Iomega 250mb) with a proper bay ready to install in a A4000. If anyone want's it, i sell it at a very nice price.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  3. #13
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Did IDE Zip drives work OK on the Amiga? I never tried. I always used a SCSI drive, which did work perfectly and let me read and write Amiga, PC and MAC formatted disks. That was really useful in the 90's as I was using Macs at University and Amigas (then PCs) at home.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #14
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    My IDE Zip100 drive has always worked fine. It probably hasn't had much use though.

  5. #15
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,354
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    My Iomega 250 MB work fine in the A1200. You just need to install the zip driver. I always liked the Style of the zip drive. Didn't had any problems. But some people report that they crash after some years.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  6. #16
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I have the problem where one of my USB drives will read 3 or 4 disks, then it won't read any more. But then the next day it will do the same. It's like something it getting overloaded after a few uses.

    Strangely I used it yesterday to access all my old Mac formatted Zip disks from university and early design project days and it read all of those disks fine and kept on working until I finished. Very strange.

    My SCSI drive never has that issue though.

    Also have one of those really slow parallel port drives. Never used it as it came free with my Z64 Mr. Backup years ago. Could be a handy spate for the drive mechanism though.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #17
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,354
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I never user the scsi version of ZIP. My internal is IDE and i never had any problems.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  8. #18
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I used an internal SCSI Zip drive in a PowerMac once. I think there might have been something wrong with the drive. I can't remember if it worked at all or not, but that was quite a while ago now.

  9. #19
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    An MP3 player related rant .

    My Mum has an iPod Nano 6th Generation from around 2010. Unfortunately the power button became non functional, which I fixed. Now I've fixed that, I can't get any audio out of it. For some reason, the iPod detects whether or not the headphones are plugged in, and its not detecting it.

    I hate expensive miniscule hard to repair electronics.

  10. #20
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    They design them not to be repaired easily on purpose to make more money from repeat purchases. I wonder what percentage of the total sales of Apple hardware are for replacements?

    Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com