Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: checksum error

  1. #1
    Harmless Aristotle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    checksum error

    Can anyone here advise a rather novice user (A3000) about why he is getting an error message, "checksum error on disk block..." almost every time he tries to load a program from the 3.5 floppy onto the hard drive?

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,331
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Normally means a corrupt disk or a faulty drive. It the checksum error from the floppy disk drive or the harddrive? If it's the floppy drive then the actual drive is probably fault and needs replacing. If it's the harddrive it might need to have a full format and everything reinstalled.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Harmless Aristotle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Well when it says there is a checksum error it gives the name of the program I'm trying to load as the disk with the error; thus, "ClipArt has a checksum error on disk block xxx". And it doesn't matter what program it is. So I'm guessing that shows my floppy drive is no good.

  4. #4
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    863
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Aristotle View Post
    Well when it says there is a checksum error it gives the name of the program I'm trying to load as the disk with the error; thus, "ClipArt has a checksum error on disk block xxx". And it doesn't matter what program it is. So I'm guessing that shows my floppy drive is no good.
    Actually, no. - It could also mean your floppy disk has expired. If other floppy disks read & write okay, then the drive has to be okay, .....making the floppy disk the culprit.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

Similar Threads

  1. 13 of the best error messages
    By v85rawdeal in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd August 2011, 05:07
  2. Error #2032
    By Demon Cleaner in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd July 2010, 06:59
  3. Bug and Error reports
    By Amiga12 in forum Arcade
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th May 2007, 14:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com