Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,062
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Upgrading my PC?

    I was wondering whether it might be worthwhile upgrading my computer to get an overall speed increase. I haven't really changed anything (apart from the RAM) since I built the machine in early 2010 (nearly 5 years ago).

    Currently I have the following:

    Motherboard: Gigabyte P31-ES3G
    CPU: Pentium E6300 @ 2.8GHz (socket LGA 775)
    Graphics: ATI Radeon HD4550
    Memory: 4GB DDR2 (I don't use anywhere near 4GB, and I can't remember the exact specification).

    Does anyone have any suggestions for upgrades? I know its a bit outdated now, but I don't mind getting second hand or NOS parts.

  2. #2
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    910
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Depends on how much you want to spend & what you'd like to do with the PC.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  3. #3
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    As Kin said, depends what you want to do with it. looking at your specs you could improve the performance by upgrading the cpu with a second hand one compatible with your motherboard, and also upgrade the graphics card.

    I know you use Linux so double check graphics card compatibility before looking for a more powerful card.

    For a CPU upgrade, your current E6300 is very old Pentium dual core technology and only has a 2MB cache.

    Your motheboard states it has a problem with "FSB 1333 MHz CPU" so best to stick with CPUs which use a 1066 FSB.

    I would therefore recommend a Core 2 Quad Q6600 or Q6700 upgrade. It gives you quad cores and 8MB L2 cache. I just looked on ebay and they can be had for as little as 30. These were brilliant CPUs and the Q6600 was my main CPU for some time. The G0 step version could be easily overclocked. I ran mine at 3GHz on air no problem and it still idled at 32 Dec C.

    Regarding your graphics card, by todays standards it is nearly too slow to appear on charts. Look here: http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gp...Radeon+HD+4550

    You could upgrade to a newer second hand GPU to improve graphics performance for not much money at all because there are a lot of cards newer than yours, but second hand, which will easily out perform it. For example a same era HD4850 is over 400% faster than your current card, and under 40 on ebay. But I would go for something a bit newer like an HD7770 as this is even faster, at about 550%+ faster than your current card, and about 80 on ebay.

    Look here for a comparison: http://www.hwcompare.com/11984/radeo...adeon-hd-7770/
    Last edited by Harrison; 17th December 2014 at 01:54.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #4
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    910
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Imo, bin the lot & start again. - Your PSU is out of any warranty @ 5 yrs old. Higher performance parts could blow themselves on an old PSU.

    Stay intel & go at least Z87 Socket 1150 mobos; Move over to nVidia & you won't go far wrong. I dare say you'll be marginally impressed.

    Again though.... depends what u want to do on it.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  5. #5
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,062
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I don't think I would get any significant benefit out of having a whole new system. Therefore it would be a bit wasteful to replace everything. It has been very reliable over the last few years.

    I'll consider getting a better processor and graphics card. I'll definitely have to have a good think about graphics cards though as drivers can be a bit iffy in Linux. My HD 4550 seems to have been OK so far though.

    I wouldn't mind if it were a bit faster for things like photo editing and web browsing/video.

  6. #6
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,062
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I just got a Q6600 processor on ebay for 21. I'll let you all know how well it works. Now to find a new graphics card.

  7. #7
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Nice. You should be pleased with the CPU upgrade, especially under Linux. The quad cores make a big difference for multitasking especially.

    For GPU's, since your original question they have moved on again, so you should be able to get something much faster for little money.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #8
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    910
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    I have two of those CPU's here, with Asus P4C800E Mobo & Asus P4C800E Deluxe mobo. There is Lots of RAM available along with AGP Grapics cards. One is nVidia & the other an AMD Saphire Radeon affair. They are all now retired from service and for sale if you're interested.

    AGP graphics will be no good to you if your mobo has PCIe of course.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  9. #9
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,062
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    This machine has PCIe for graphics.

    When did AGP start to fall out of fashion? I still use it in old computers, but I haven't seen it around on newer systems for quite a few years.

    I might just get an HD7770 off ebay. They seem quite plentiful .

  10. #10
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    910
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    AGP has been unavailable for years now. Couldn't say just when tbh.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading the Amiga 500
    By Puni/Void in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27th September 2011, 20:14
  2. Submeg upgrading PSP to 3.03 OE-C
    By Submeg in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 31st October 2007, 14:35
  3. Upgrading Zappo CD
    By StuKeith in forum Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd October 2007, 20:42
  4. Upgrading standard a1200 to run OS3.9?
    By westy in forum Hardware
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10th September 2007, 10:48
  5. Upgrading a PSP from 1.5 to custom 3.03 OE-C
    By Harrison in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2007, 12:07

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com