Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    A500 PPC Running Amiga OS4

    Apparently someone has managed to get an A500 running OS4 by using a ACA500 and Blizzard PPC card.

    http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/...38779&forum=25
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Now that is cool if it is real. Although would it mean the graphics are going through the OCS/ECS chipset?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I think it's got a BlizzardVision so it's got a full PPC kit plugged into a ACA500 to A500 so it probably only costs 1000 to do. Lol.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    That begs the question.. how much of the actual A500 is really doing anything? Other than the keyboard and mouse.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Paula, Agnus? Probably a couple more diodes and transistors? It's just one of those useless experiments to see if it can be done.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  6. #6
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    953
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    LOL!! - Why?
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  7. #7
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    For the most part retro hardware that gets expanded these days is purely to prove it's possible. Fans of a system like nothing better than proving something can be made to work. A ppc cpu in an A500 would never have been considered possible years ago.

    The majority of other expanded systems these days are people fulfilling their dream wish list from years ago.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #8
    Below Average zapiy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    88
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    A500 PPC Running Amiga OS4

    Very interesting to see this from my point of view. But these people must be loaded if it cost 1000 just to prove a point?????

Similar Threads

  1. Running out of HD space....
    By Submeg in forum General Chat
    Replies: 92
    Last Post: 6th March 2017, 14:05
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th February 2010, 15:46
  3. Running Linux on your Amiga
    By Harrison in forum Software
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11th August 2009, 16:05
  4. sending data and running on the amiga
    By gareth_2008 in forum Software
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st April 2008, 12:30

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com