Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,091
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88

    [PC] - Memory issues

    Since some time I have memory issues on my PC. There seems to be memory getting allocated for different tasks, but never released again.

    This happened now several times during the last months. The memory goes down and down and down, f.ex. yesterday I only had 3% of memory left, this morning it was only 1% anymore, and the PC kind of freezes, you cannot really work anymore with it.

    I checked, and there is one svchost task running which took about 11GB of my 12GB memory, and when trying to kill the process, I get an access denied notification, thus making it impossible to get rid of it. Don't know what this one is though, I have of course several of these svchost tasks running, but you cannot tell which one makes what.

    So I had to restart the PC, which was also not possible, because it got eventually stuck on the restarting screen, so I had to reset the PC. Back up again, everything was normal, why wouldn't it be anyway, memory was free again, but when I started uTorrent f.ex, there were no torrents anymore, when I started Firefox, it didn't restore my tabs, and also PeerBlock reported some empty lists. Nothing important, but annoying.

    I just wanna know if there's one task which is accumulating memory and not releasing it anymore, or could there be something else causing this?

  2. #2
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,381
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    How is your memory at mother board? 4+4+4? Are they all of the same speed and brand?
    try to remove one and see if it freezes again, repeat the process and try to isolate the bad one (if it is a memory problem...)
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  3. #3
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,091
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    I won't open anything, don't have the patience for that, and I'm 99% sure this is software related, as it happens only sometimes, like once a month or so, if it would be a hardware problem, it obviously wouldn't go away at all.

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Biggest culprit for memory leading like is are browsers and torrent clients. It's not happened for some time, but I've had most ram used up and when I've looked in tasks it has been Firefox. Ending its process normally clears it.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,091
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Firefox only took like 1%, uTorrent took 300MB. After closing them, it didn't help, that svchost had still the whole 11GB.

    Btw, I have 2x2GB and 2x4GB dual channel RAM. But the hardware is not the issue. Like I said, this happens only from time to time, perhaps even less than once a month, but I have to mention that my PC is running 24/7, restarting it sometimes definitely solves the problem, if existing. Nothing to worry about, just would like to know which svchost it is.

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,489
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    svchost.exe is the process that runs all windows services. Multiple copies of it can be running at once because each is running different services and one instance of svchost can be running multiple services. One of your services is playing up. To see which service is the issue right click on svchost.exe and select "Go to Service(s)". That will tell you which service it is, and you can use services manager to restart or disable it if you don't need it.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    910
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Pls tell me your exact Hardware Specifications. - IE: - Mobo Part number & type of Ram used & the OS you are using.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  8. #8
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,091
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    svchost.exe is the process that runs all windows services. Multiple copies of it can be running at once because each is running different services and one instance of svchost can be running multiple services. One of your services is playing up. To see which service is the issue right click on svchost.exe and select "Go to Service(s)". That will tell you which service it is, and you can use services manager to restart or disable it if you don't need it.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
    I know that, I have about 10 different svchost tasks running, and I only thought you could kill the process by right clicking, didn't see that you have an option that links you to the service. So that's definitely one thing I will do next time this happens, wonder which service it is, perhaps I could disable it for good, if it's not needed.

  9. #9
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    910
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
    Pls tell me your exact Hardware Specifications. - IE: - Mobo Part number & type of Ram used & the OS you are using.
    Psssst!
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  10. #10
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,060
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Biggest culprit for memory leading like is are browsers and torrent clients. It's not happened for some time, but I've had most ram used up and when I've looked in tasks it has been Firefox. Ending its process normally clears it.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
    Browsers are almost certainly not the culprit here, but I can confirm that they can use a heck of a lot of memory. On my machine, Opera often used many hundreds of megabytes, especially if I've had things like Flash running.

Similar Threads

  1. A603 Memory Expansion
    By amigakit.com in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st May 2009, 21:34
  2. Firefox 1.5/2 memory leaks
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd July 2008, 01:06
  3. Memory issues in Apollo
    By StuKeith in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th October 2007, 10:37
  4. Your first memory?
    By Harrison in forum Amiga
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 5th May 2007, 09:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com