Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    863
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    @ H

    There are so many conditions that can be affecting SC's connection, I feel it best not to complicate things with my issues, as these realms might send SC in the wrong direction and/or cause unnecessary worries.

    Personally, I'd also like to "not go on" about it..... - The record has a groove in it, ....deeper than the Grand Canyon.
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  2. #22
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I'm pleased to say we are getting an uncapped connection from the start of next month .

    I also ought to buy a new ADSL modem as my line has been ADSL2+ for some time now, but my modem only supports MaxDSL, so I can probably squeeze an extra couple of Mbps out of it.

  3. #23
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I highly recommend Billion routers. Well worth it. If you want a feature picked one get the 7800n, but if it's features are not needed then their lower priced ones like the 5200 are great.. I got my parents one of these and they never had an issue.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #24
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I was pondering getting a DrayTek modem. They do a dedicated modem which ought to work fine with my existing router (of which I am thinking about changing the software on), but I'll definitely keep Billion in mind. I've known of the company for some time, but haven't really considered them before.

  5. #25
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Draytek are also good.

    Whatever you get try to get one that supports both ADSL and a direct WAN connection (used for cable and fibre). This is a useful inclusion because if you later upgrade to fibre you can use the same router.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  6. #26
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I've ordered a DrayTek Vigor 120. Its a dedicated modem, so should work reliably, and be compatible with most routers. Ordered it from Dabs. Funnily enough, I've known of Dabs for many years, but never actually bought anything from them till now.

    I expect I will be using ADSL for a good few years, so if and when I do get fibre, I'll just get dedicated fibre hardware then. Although fibre does look tempting, realistically, I don't have much use for the extra speed and because of that it isn't worth the extra money.

  7. #27
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Faster downloads are great, but for me the huge bandwidth difference with fibre finally allows the internet to work as it should. Fluidly. No horrible pauses or buffering, or waiting hours for a Windows updates or a game to download or update. Just a few minutes for anything.

    Something else it also finally allows is on demand services. With ADSL it was a bit ofa joke trying to stream even YouTube, but with fibre I can access Sky OnDemand on HD in real-time, stream hd YouTube and any other video services. It makes the need to own films and music less important as you can just select and play it when you want.



    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #28
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    863
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Faster downloads are great, but for me the huge bandwidth difference with fibre finally allows the internet to work as it should. Fluidly. No horrible pauses or buffering, or waiting hours for a Windows updates or a game to download or update. Just a few minutes for anything.

    Something else it also finally allows is on demand services. With ADSL it was a bit ofa joke trying to stream even YouTube, but with fibre I can access Sky OnDemand on HD in real-time, stream hd YouTube and any other video services. It makes the need to own films and music less important as you can just select and play it when you want.



    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
    No Fluidity here on Fibre. Hell, ..... I even get CHOKE on a 38Mb connection with interleaving off. -Total pi$$ take H. - Nothing registers so you end up firing blanks from ur AK47. - Dick Head BT muppets ffs.....

    Meh!....record again.....
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

  9. #29
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,020
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    My current 8mbps connection is fine for streaming video. Well, it manages 720 line video fine. 1080 lines is pushing it a bit. I still prefer downloading videos to the HDD though where possible just for reliability, as sites such as YouTube can be a pain in the backside, regardless of connection speed.

    Harrison, how long do your Windows updates take? I just updated my entire Debian OS and it took well under an hour to download.

  10. #30
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Depends how large the download is. I normally get over 8MB/s for Microsoft downloads. For Steam it always maxxes the connection, which is normally 9-10MB/s, so a 8GB game downloads in under 16 mins.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. HD at YouTube slow!
    By Demon Cleaner in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16th September 2010, 08:59
  2. How Slow Can You Go?
    By Demon Cleaner in forum MAME
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th April 2007, 17:21

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com