Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,361
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Pc inside Amiga 1200 project - completed


    Finaly, i completed the project.
    Space inside the case was the major problem. Everything else compared with Space problem was easy.
    Closing the original A1200 case with keyrah inside and a pc laptop board was ...... Hell ...
    I did it, but everything was to compress inside.
    I should get an ribbon cable extention so that i could put the Keyrah in a more confortable position.
    anyway, it's done.
    My soldering skills are not the best, but i was able to do the job.

    so in resume:
    - Original Amiga 1200 case
    - Laptop Mother Board (Pee Cee)
    - Keyrah adaptor with original A1200 keyboad
    - USBs
    - Sound RCAs
    - DB9 Ports (with Keyrah)
    - Power on/off plug
    - Power on/off button (connected to m. board slot)
    - F12 button for Winuae (connected to m. board slot)
    - HD 2,5" sata (with extention cable)

    The HD 2,5" sata (with extention cable) is not very stable, don't know why. 1 in 10 boots fail to detect Hd
    without the extention cable wokrs fine

    https://picasaweb.google.com/1025638...eat=directlink


    Feel free to comment some pictures in picasa (i would apreciate)

    And, i know, that a lot of you will say "WHY? Why did you do such a project"
    - Because i had some spare parts... and because i like to create... and... to have an dedicaded emulation machine
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,358
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Very nice to see it finally completed.

    I wonder if the 2.5" sata cable is too long? The laptop hdd port might be designed to only allow short cables? And struggles with longer ones. If you have a PCMCIA port on the motherboard you could get a SATA expansion card for that and ditch the built in port.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,361
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    The cable is about 20cm... quite strange, but i found similar problems by other people on the web.
    The cable cost me less then 1 dollar includind shipping... it looks good, looks a "normal" cable, i don't know if is good or not...
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  4. #4
    Average Andrew1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Northallerton
    Posts
    194
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0
    Hi Tiago
    Awesome work you have done there. Whats it like when running does it get hot or not. Whats the performance like.
    More pics whens its all built and running please.When people ask WHY did you do it. I find the answer is because i CAN do it.
    And its a challenge. Its an awesome A1200 Execellent work. Now whats next.
    Many Thanks
    Andrew
    A600 6gig HDD, 3.1 Rom, ClassicWB GAAE, Pcmcia Adapter to cf.
    A1200 80gig HDD, 3.0 Rom ClassicWB Lite.

  5. #5
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,361
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    As a Pee Cee Mother board, it was biuld for being inside a very closed case (laptop). In A1200 case it has similar space. I have the original cooler fan, so temperature is equal as in the origianl Pee Cee.

    WHY did you do it. I find the answer is because i CAN do it.
    And its a challenge
    Yes !! That's it, it was a challenge, i learned a lot with it, my soldering skills were bad, now, they are a bti better.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,358
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    SATA cables do seem more fragile than the older IDE ones and seem to suddenly stop working if handled a few times. I find the ones bundled with Asus motherboards the most reliable.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,361
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes,
    and this cable has vrey thin wires, and with 20 centimeters a guess they can receive "interference".
    Maybe if i cut then to half size they would work better?
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  8. #8
    Average Andrew1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Northallerton
    Posts
    194
    Downloads
    14
    Uploads
    0
    Hi All
    Tiago whats you next project PC in A600
    A600 6gig HDD, 3.1 Rom, ClassicWB GAAE, Pcmcia Adapter to cf.
    A1200 80gig HDD, 3.0 Rom ClassicWB Lite.

  9. #9
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,361
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I don't know, but i am looking at the Rashberry pi, and i looks very interesting...
    why not? an Rashberry pi inside A600 ?
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  10. #10
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,358
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I would personally look at the new Android board for such a project. Only for the reason it can run all Android software from the app store so already has a large library including emulators. Although with the Raspberry Pi you can run Linux.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. What does Amiga 1200 (T) mean?
    By Jasybee2000 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 24th September 2008, 10:28
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th July 2007, 08:09
  3. Cleaning inside the computer
    By Harrison in forum General Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd January 2007, 14:00

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com