Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ELITE VIP
    My location

    AlexJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,262
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Formula One in High Definition

    Formula One coverage is now in being made available in HD. Sadly ITV haven't got a HD channel at the moment, so we won't get it over here but on the plus side, we will be getting a widescreen picture as opposed to the 4:3 last season.

    I've always said that F1 in HD would be the 'killer app' that would convince me to get HD. Now they've made it available and Australia, Germany etc. have got it, HD-day is one step closer...

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Great news. This would be the one broadcast I would want to upgrade to HD for. Currently I am still holding off until more HD channels are available on the UK on Sky HD.

    That is very annoying that ITV currently will not be broadcasting it in HD due to their lack of support for the format. It does seem mad that ITV still have not rolled out at least one HD channel yet. Maybe the problem is due to Freeview not supporting HD and so any such channel would be limited to broadcasting on Sky and Cable and therefore would limit their audience for the HD broadcast.

    Personally I wish Sky could somehow take over the F1 broadcasting rights so they could then broadcast F1 in HD. But also I would love for it to again be broadcast without adverts as they have always annoyed me since ITV took over the broadcasting from the BBC.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    ELITE v85rawdeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    1,334
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Essentially, I think the ideal solution (and therefore the one LEAST likely to happen) is that BBC get the rights back, and show it on their HD channel.

    Mind you, even then, that is still restricted to those who have subscribed to HD services and is not yet availabl, AFAIK, on any freeview service... yet...

    Would love to watch it. MInd you, this does bring about the idea of what else would look great in HD.

    My top suggestions are:

    I'm A Celebrity, Get Me Outta Here (Imagine watching all the bug-related challenges on a 42" HD TV... ewww)

    Top Gear in HD (especially the last episode of the latest series... those stretch limos were a scream... although I would have fitted a Wii in the back of the Hampster's...)

    Doctor Who and Torchwood would both look great in HD, as would shows like Babylon 5 and Lexx.

    What do other people think?
    This is not a signature

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Films, Sci-Fi and Sport are the three areas I would personally love to see the most in HD. I have been so tempted by HD recently due to Sky broadcasting most of their prime time Sci-Fi shows in HD as well as normal definition. I imagine Stargate would look great in HD, and Battlestar Galactica even more so. But I cannot justify the expense yet just for a couple of programs. I am still going to wait a bit longer until more channels and programs start to actually use HD, and when I am ready to make the move to an HD disc format and am about to own an HD capable console (PS3).

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    ELITE VIP
    My location

    AlexJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,262
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Torchwood was broadcast in HD I think. There were plans for the next series of DW to be in HD as well, not sure if these materialised. Top Gear isn't in HD although with it being sold all over the world it should be, even if, as Clarkson claimed in a column, it doubles production costs. TG is one of the few shows where the BBC get more money from selling it on to other broadcasters than it costs them to make.

    I know the BBC and ITV are planning on launching a version of Freeview on Satellite (as it happens their channels are already FreeToAir on Satellite, and I can recieve them with my non-sky box and dish) and I wonder if part of the reason is because there isn't enough space for HD on Freeview. Maybe when Freesat's up-and-running we might see the big-five launching HD channels.

    On the news of channel launches, FX have got a HD licence so should be launching soon and Eurosport have released plans for a HD channel. That might mean we get to see GP2 (the F1 feeder series) in HD before F1 itself!

  6. #6
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,680
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    There was an ITV HD channel but it closed down. There was never really much on it anway, apart from some (admittedly rather nice) aerial shots of London.

    I have the Virgin Media (formerly telewest) HD box, and the only HD channel is BBC HD. Torchwood and Robin Hood were both shown on the HD channel.

    There is some on demand HD content but really not a lot at the moment. But to be fair we got this box as it was the only one at the time to offer HDD recording, the HD output was just a very nice bonus.

  7. #7
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,154
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Premiere (german pay TV which I receive via my Dreambox) has some HD channels (also F1), unfortunately I cannot display them, the Dreambox not being HD compatible. My TV is HD Ready.

  8. #8
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    That must be annoying to see the channels and have an HD TV, but not be able to access them. Sky also show the HD channels in their listings but without a Sky HD box you cannot access them. Something I will be thinking about upgrading too at some point soon.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #9
    Deadly VIP
    TiredOfLife's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,067
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Talking

    Not really considering it at the min.
    The cost of getting a new telly and the extra subscription to sky doesn't really make it worth it, as there is only a limited amount of HD programs at the min.
    Although I would be interested to see what, ahmen, educational programs would look like.

  10. #10
    ELITE v85rawdeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    1,334
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TiredOfLife View Post
    Not really considering it at the min.
    The cost of getting a new telly and the extra subscription to sky doesn't really make it worth it, as there is only a limited amount of HD programs at the min.
    Although I would be interested to see what, ahmen, educational programs would look like.
    In the UK you'd only get half an hour of some guy's sweaty face grunting away in super-large, ultra-high definition *shudders*
    This is not a signature

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com