Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Harmless Inactive Member
    eskimo.fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Hardware problem?

    Hi everyone!
    Im new on this forum so please be gently!

    I got an issue,
    i found my two Amiga A500 couple days ago.
    I plugged power on and nothing happens.
    No power led on etc.

    Tested that power comes to motherboard but but, dont get it.
    Both Amigas do the same :<

    Plz, help me.

    -eskimo.fi

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,564
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Hi, and welcome.

    As you are not getting any power it sounds like the power supply brick, rather than the Amiga's themselves.

    Do you have 2 power supplies, or just one?

    If you have a multimeter you could test the output to see if it is producing anything.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Harmless Inactive Member
    eskimo.fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Yes i have 2 power supplies and with both of them the same thing.

    I have tested with multimeter and the power comes from power supply to motherboard in both occasions.

    Im out of ideas.

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,564
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    OK, so power is getting to the Amiga and with the multimeter it was 12V and 5V? It could still be the PSUs not providing enough power.

    With no Power LED on the Amiga it definitely sounds like a hardware issue. The next step is to open the Amiga up, remove the top metal shield and examine the motherboard in detail to make sure you can't see anything really obvious like a blown/bulging capacitor. Or it could be something as simple as a grounding issue. Make sure the shielding inside the case is correctly screwed down and not touching anything, and no stray screws are loose anywhere.

    If that is all OK then I personally would try another PSU that I know is working to rule it out completely, but without one available that can be hard. It is quite easy to convert a PC ATX PSU to power an Amiga. If you wanted to try that let me know and I can dig out some pinouts diagrams for you. Its pretty easy as you only need to utilise a 4 pin Molex on a PC PSU to the Amiga to power it.

    Failing all that the final thing would be the Amiga's custom chipset.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    Harmless Inactive Member
    eskimo.fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks for the answer!
    Ill look inside the amiga and try all screws etc.

    It would be nice if you can get those pinouts diagrams, i got lots of atx psu:s on my closet

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,564
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    All the PSU details needed can be found at http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am..._supplies.html

    The author even makes his own adapters for about £10 so you don't need to manually hack a PC PSU up, but doing it manually isn't too hard.

    The main thing to consider is that Commodore were never consistent with their wiring colour schemes or the wiring layouts inside the PSUs themselves, so it is best to instead use a multimeter and identify the correct pinouts based on:


    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. Hardware PC Emulators
    By Puni/Void in forum Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th April 2011, 13:28
  2. EIDE problem???
    By WolfMan in forum Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th April 2009, 14:07
  3. PCMCIA Problem
    By Castelle in forum Hardware
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 17th May 2008, 20:33
  4. Problem with CBR and CBZ files
    By Ghost in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd May 2008, 22:36
  5. Hardware Manuals
    By Buleste in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th November 2007, 10:52

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com