Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Are you using the same Workbench setup on each? If so that is probably the issue.

    Maybe it would be worth downloading one of the current ClassicWB versions and setting it up as a fresh install, adding your key to the S directory and seeing if Bloodwych (included by default with ClassicWB) will run. If that works then add and try a couple of other games. That will prove if it is something specific to your existing setups.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #12
    Harmless Inactive Member
    Spirantho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I tried ClassicWB!

    It still didn't work! Same problem exactly!

    Any chance I can try your keyfile please? You've got my key so you know I've registered it... but I'll understand if you don't want to send it me for fear of me distributing it.

    I really don't understand what could be wrong. The only variable I can think of is my WB3.0 ADF file - maybe it's dodgy. I'll try with a WB3.1 one if I can find one...
    --
    Ian Gledhill
    [email]ian.gledhill@btinternit.com[/email] (except it should be internEt of course...!)
    Now released: Numerix for Android! [url]http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/numerix/[/url]
    Current Amiga project: Ubercassette! [url]http://www.retroreview.com/iang/UberCassette[/url]

  3. #13
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,388
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Spirantho, as i remember, there are 2 folders where you can put the key, with me, the first folder were i placed the key didn't work, only in second folder... did you try the 2 options?
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  4. #14
    Harmless Inactive Member
    Spirantho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I tried (almost!) everywhere.
    It's not that the registration key doesn't work - it does, the box comes up with my name and everything - it's that the whole emulated Amiga crashes whenever I use my key. Remove the key - works fine. Put the key in S:, RAM:, whatever: crashes the Amiga.

    I think it just doesn't like me.
    --
    Ian Gledhill
    [email]ian.gledhill@btinternit.com[/email] (except it should be internEt of course...!)
    Now released: Numerix for Android! [url]http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/numerix/[/url]
    Current Amiga project: Ubercassette! [url]http://www.retroreview.com/iang/UberCassette[/url]

  5. #15
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,388
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    and it works fine on real amiga?
    did you try to put your real Amiga HD on your PC with Winuae?
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  6. #16
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    What I will do for you tomorrow is create a small working HDF for you to test out, using ClassicWB, with a registered keyfile and a couple of games.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #17
    Harmless Inactive Member
    Spirantho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I'm just installing ClassicWB UAE now using brand new Workbench 3.1 disks I got when I upgraded my A1500 the other week.

    Watch this space...!
    --
    Ian Gledhill
    [email]ian.gledhill@btinternit.com[/email] (except it should be internEt of course...!)
    Now released: Numerix for Android! [url]http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/numerix/[/url]
    Current Amiga project: Ubercassette! [url]http://www.retroreview.com/iang/UberCassette[/url]

  8. #18
    Harmless Inactive Member
    Spirantho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Interesting.

    It still crashes. No keyfile, works fine. Put in my keyfile... screen goes black, junk appears on screen briefly, then I get this:

    bloodwych.jpg

    Click on "Make Coredump" and it gives a software failure (instead of actually creating a dumpfile in T:, which is where I believe it goes).

    This is a completely new UAE install of Classic WB (UAE). The WB disks are brand new OS3.1 disks. The ClassicWB is a WB3.1 upgraded installation (using the normal ClassicWB installer). The keyfile is the only change.

    Doing a no startup-sequence boot just gives me the usual result: no keyfile, works. With keyfile, black screen and garbage.

    Gaaaargh.
    --
    Ian Gledhill
    [email]ian.gledhill@btinternit.com[/email] (except it should be internEt of course...!)
    Now released: Numerix for Android! [url]http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/numerix/[/url]
    Current Amiga project: Ubercassette! [url]http://www.retroreview.com/iang/UberCassette[/url]

  9. #19
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Very strange. And even stranger that your keyfile worked perfectly for me when I tried it.

    One question. How old is your keyfile? How long ago did you register it? Some older keyfiles get blacklisted in newer WHDLoad releases, although that wouldn't answer why it worked for me.

    Maybe you could email the WHDLoad team member who deals with the keyfiles and see if he can send you a new one. Worth a shot.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #20
    Harmless Inactive Member
    Spirantho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    22
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    There's no reason why it should be blacklisted as far as I know.. and even if it were, surely it'd just say "This is an unregistered version", not crash horribly.
    The keyfile is quite old, though, it's true.
    I'll have to see if I can get a new keyfile, I guess. Very confusing, though - especially, as you say, given it works for you!
    --
    Ian Gledhill
    [email]ian.gledhill@btinternit.com[/email] (except it should be internEt of course...!)
    Now released: Numerix for Android! [url]http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/numerix/[/url]
    Current Amiga project: Ubercassette! [url]http://www.retroreview.com/iang/UberCassette[/url]

Similar Threads

  1. How to use the WHDLoad forum
    By Harrison in forum WHDLoad
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th October 2008, 15:40
  2. What is WHDLoad?
    By Harrison in forum WHDLoad
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th October 2008, 13:22
  3. WHDLoad
    By Harrison in forum Software
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 9th September 2008, 16:22
  4. WhdLoad Problems.
    By Buleste in forum Games
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd February 2008, 11:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com