Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 63
  1. #31
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Just thought of something else. Do you need to have an original PS3 game in the drive to launch backups?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #32
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,387
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I could not launch anything without having a ps3 original, but any original will do.
    to run uncharted 1 i had litle big planet inside... but i only try so far the internal HD, i must get a new external usb drive.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  3. #33
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,130
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Since version 2.04 of Gaia Manager, they removed again the possibility to run a game WITHOUT having an original in the console (don't ask me why). Guess they will put it back soon, because some people's BD drive of the PS3 is broken, so they can't use it with an original anymore. I don't bother, I always keep an original disc inside.

    With the normal JB, you will have to use an original.

  4. #34
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,387
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    i dowload the "Fix File Permissions" yesterday, how do i use it?
    I read that it need to have the 3.55 update in the same pen????
    I dont know if i will installed it, i only try 1 game and it workrd, i guess i will not use it till i got some game that dont work...
    but please tell me how should i install it, is it only that file? and it's just plugin the pen and install as package? or must i do the on/off stuff ?
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  5. #35
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,130
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    You install it like a normal .pkg file, then you have it as application on your PS3. You simply click on it to run it, it's just like an .exe file.

  6. #36
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,387
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Demon Cleaner View Post
    You install it like a normal .pkg file, then you have it as application on your PS3. You simply click on it to run it, it's just like an .exe file.
    Great !
    What about the online? i disable the internet on PS3 till i am sure it will not do anything bad.
    if i go online, you said games will update (both original and "backup") ?
    there are some rumors about Sony be able to track (in PSN?) if you have the normal 3.55 or the hacked 3.55 and be able to or cut your account, or something like ban you serial number??? Or is this only rumors that dont have logic ?

    There is also the issue the Sony are now hunting those who hacked the firmware and trying to bring a court case against them.
    .... what about this? is it true? how can they do that?
    Is it not legal to do your own backups??? not talking about downloading in torrents, but doing it with an original...

    i was thinking if this craking stuff would not open new doors to the PS3... they are starting to control the machine, someday we'll have the change again to put Linux on it.... even an amiga emulator... maybe.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  7. #37
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Exactly. Now CFW allows any program/code to be installed the homebrew scene should start to take off. It won't be long before the first emulators appear, then we will be able to see how powerful the PS3 really is.

    I'm also a little worried about online activity with a CFW. With the 360 M$ quickly worked out how to detect it and block the machines, so I can see Sony looking at ways to do the same. And those with upgraded Plus subscriptions could lose their accounts.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #38
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,130
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiago View Post
    if i go online, you said games will update (both original and "backup").
    Both. Install a downloaded game, sign in, and then run the game. If there's an update available, it will automatically download and install it as it would be an original.

    I don't know about Sony tracking people down, I really have no idea, I didn't get any information on that because I don't care about. I never play online, I only update my games and download some stuff from the store, as I did also now with the CFW. If they want to ban me, they just should go ahead, don't care much.

    There's an application called "wipe histroy", perhaps you wanna try that one out --> WIPE HISTORY

  9. #39
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,387
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    And if you go online to update games only, would it be possible to sony to track you?
    I guess the update goes directly to the game server... s sony could not track it...
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  10. #40
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,130
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Honestly, I have not the faintest idea, but I doubt that they would see if you only update your game.

Similar Threads

  1. First 3TB HDDs released
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 23rd December 2010, 04:37
  2. New RPG to be released
    By v85rawdeal in forum RPGs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd September 2008, 17:14
  3. PS3 firmware 2.0 to be released
    By Demon Cleaner in forum Modern era (7th Gen onwards)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd May 2007, 18:19
  4. God of War II released
    By Demon Cleaner in forum 128bit (6th Gen Era)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st March 2007, 22:15
  5. PSP FW 3.10 OE-A released!
    By Harrison in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 15th February 2007, 20:53

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com