Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31
  1. #11
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I tried safe mode, but that had the same problem.

    I will investigate the hard drive.

    I may also try a clean installation on a spare partition as well.

  2. #12
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,674
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    If memtest ran fine, then that means your ram is fine. It spouts out errors fairly quickly with dodgy ram.
    I found that memtest (both the win version and the bootable) could be a bit hit and miss. When I had some bad RAM it would sometimes through up heaps of errors, and other times it would sail through clear. It was most odd, and meant I struggled along for ages. I tried swapping sticks round, into different slots and could never quite pin it down to one stick/slot. Maybe not so relevant to Steve's thread, mind.

    I don't have any suggestions, really, other than just chucking stuff out.... clean install perhaps?

  3. #13
    For those who dare! ClassicWB dev
    VIP
    Forum Mod
    Chopper Challenge Champion, The Collector Champion, BombJack Arcade Champion, Turkey Shoot Champion, Paintballing - Assault Champion, Tower 13 - Adventures In Body Saving Champion, Himalayaya Champion, Sea Dogs Champion, Yeti Sports 1- Long Shot Version Champion, Operation Switchover Champion Bloodwych's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    601
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Interesting to know JT, I do put a lot of faith in that proggie especially when overclocking!

    Niggling computer problems are annoying. Unless someone has a direct cure, it ends up just guess work and a process of elimination.
    Live Long and Procrastinate
    A500 Batman Pack
    Classic Workbench

  4. #14
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Here is my memory and the settings in the BIOS, in case anyone can use it to figure out the problem.

    pcmemory01.jpg
    pcmemory02.jpg
    pcmemory03.jpg

    BTW, I like the snow on the forum.

  5. #15
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,588
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Looking at your image of the ram it is DDR2 1GB PC2-6400 ram with a maximum speed of 800MHz.

    SPD (default) Timings = 5-5-5-12
    Maximum Timings = 4-4-4-12

    DRAM Voltage = 2.0V


    Full details of your ram can be found at http://images.crucial.com/pdf/datash...in%20DIMMs.pdf

    Also what CPU are you using? Have you checked the FSB is the correct speed?

    Maybe reset the CMOS in your system to clear the BIOS and let it auto detect everything again to make sure, and manually alter it after if needed.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  6. #16
    I'd put the BIOS back to default and then fine-tune it again at a later date, see if that changes things. Let the BIOS detect everything and make the settings rather than do it yourself.

  7. #17
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Its still doing it.

    I just did a reinstall and it still does it.

    I'm pretty sure there is something wrong somewhere.

  8. #18
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,588
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    You need to strip the system down to the bare minimum. Just the Motherboard, CPU, one stick of ram, and graphics card.

    Then power it up and leave it running in the BIOS screen for a day. If the BIOS has a system monitoring/temperature screen, showing the CPU temp and fan speeds, leave it on that screen so you can monitor it. If after a day it is still running, you can say the motherboard and CPU are perfectly OK. This won't have taxed the ram or graphics card much though so they could still be a problem.

    Next you will want to test the ram using one of the utilities you can find on the HiRen's boot CD. So you will need to connect a CD drive and you might also need a HDD depending on the utility being used. Boot the CD and run a memory test, and leave that running for at least 4 hours. If that is fine. If you are using more than one stick of ram, then run the memory tests for a few hours with each of the ram individually just to rule them out.

    The final test with the hardware you have connected is the graphics card. To fully test this you will need to run an intensive test like a benchmarking utility such as 3DMark or something compatible with Linux. But if all that passes, other than the graphics card, it would point to something other than the main parts of the hardware being a problem.
    Last edited by Harrison; 7th March 2011 at 16:51.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #19
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks for the tips harrison.

  10. #20
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I'm running a stress test thingy using a programme called S&M which is included on Hirens BootCD.

    It currently has my CPU temperature up to 44 degrees C.

Similar Threads

  1. PS3 as a personal computer - why not?
    By Tiago in forum Other systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th April 2009, 01:39
  2. C-One Reconfigurable Computer.
    By Buleste in forum General Retro Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th January 2009, 16:41
  3. Old Computer Mags
    By Demon Cleaner in forum General Retro Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th July 2008, 12:04
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12th February 2007, 19:28

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com