Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 320GB and FAT32

  1. #1
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,151
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88

    320GB and FAT32

    What would be the best way to format a 320GB disk in FAT32 without loosing space? I guess with partitioning, only thing is that I don't know if the PS3 recognizes all the partitions. I want to put my games on it, as it's still not possible to use PS3's internal disk, I have a 320GB one.

    I don't have a spare external disk anymore, and anyway, all of the disks will be limited when using FAT32.

  2. #2
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,151
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    I formatted now with a tool called HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool, that gave me now already 128GB in FAT32. Now trying with the command line format x: /q /fs:fat32, will see if I get fully 320GB after that.

    EDIT: Worked
    Last edited by Demon Cleaner; 13th September 2010 at 03:16.

  3. #3
    ELITE v85rawdeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    1,334
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I was going to suggest a program called FAT32FormatterEN, but you got yours to work.
    This is not a signature

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,588
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    So, can you only use FAT32 formatted external HDDs with the PS3? No support for NTFS or any linux file system?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,151
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    So, can you only use FAT32 formatted external HDDs with the PS3? No support for NTFS or any linux file system?
    Only FAT32. That's why I try to put everything on the PS3's internal disk, which supports files bigger than 4GB. There's an FTP application out now, which you install to the PS3, so you're able to reach it towards your PC. Didn't try it out though yet.

  6. #6
    Harmless Inactive Member
    source's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I downloaded a program called swissknife. It allows for partitioning your drive with fat32 or ntfs That is what I used to prep a 320 gig drive that I use to copy photos to my PS3 as well as transfer files to my A2000.

Similar Threads

  1. Formatting a 1TB external harddrive to FAT32?
    By Submeg in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th May 2010, 09:16

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com