Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Harmless Inactive Member
    papapumpnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Unhappy A600HD screen output blue hue

    Hi,

    About a week ago the A600HD screen when to a green hue, then shortly after a blue hue. Its still showing a blue hue. Tried other screens and cables but nothing has made any difference.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    You are still getting a picture, but with a blue hue?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Harmless Inactive Member
    papapumpnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Correct. Apart from the blue hue the image is perfect.

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I've asked some friends if they have any idea what could be causing this and will let you know what they say.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    Wiseguy Staff Moderator
    My location

    Teho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,320
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Years ago I had the exact same issue on my PC. Turned out my VGA plug was coming loose so the pins on one side of the connector wasn't connecting (this problem took me quite a while to solve, too ). You say you've tried other cables so I'm wondering if it's the port on the Amiga which has some dead pins for some reason? Maybe something needs resoldering? Just guessing here though.

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I am also guessing a dry solder joint on the RGB port, but it might also be other things like the custom chipset. Problem with the A600 is everything is surface mounted so is hard to replace or fix anything. Although replacement motherboards can be found cheap if it turns out to be the problem.

    One thing to check is to connect the A600 to a TV using the yellow composite video output on the back. If the picture is still blue then it must be an issue with the hardware itself. If the picture looks in colour and OK then it is probably a problem with the RGB port.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Reply back from Merlin:

    "More than likely it's leaking capacitors causing a decay in voltage on the red and green lines, leaving only blue near the correct voltage. That would explain why the green colour fades as the voltage decays."

    To check this you need to open up the A600 and remove the top shielding. To do this, open the case carefully and unplug the keyboard cables as you open the case. Then remove the floppy drive, unplugging it as you go, and finally remove the top shield by releasing all of the metal clips around its edge.

    To inspect the capacitors, look at each and see if you can see any budging tops (they should be flat) or leaking substance from them (often yellow/orange in colour). If you spot any of this then the caps will need replacing. Failing that, I know some friends you can look at it for you and repair the Amiga if needed.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #8
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Reply back from Zetr0:

    "This is most likely (95%) a video feed Capactitor fault -

    however the other 5% in me say's that this could also be DAC failure... although its uncommon its best to know that this is possible."

    I would definitely trust this analysis and Zetr0 knows what he is on about. And as Merlin said above, it is more likely a capacitor, and Zetr0 has identified which is the most likely cause. So a cap replacement might well be in order.

    I hope that information is useful to you.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #9
    Harmless Inactive Member
    papapumpnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Ok that gives me some place to start looking. I have when the issue first appeared inspected the top side of the MB but not in any great detail. I couldn't at stage stage see any leaking caps but I will remove the board completely and go over it again in detail.

    Thanks for all the help so far. I'll post back on my findings.

  10. #10
    Harmless Inactive Member
    roburthool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Ok I read your post and all reply and so I think you need to show this problem to its authorized service center so solve this problem and I think this is hardware problem.
    [url=http://www.dealchecker.co.uk/cheap-carhire/belfast.html]belfast car hire[/url]

Similar Threads

  1. Unstable 60hz output from my A1200(T)
    By woody.cool in forum Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th April 2010, 18:27
  2. Broken PSP Screen
    By v85rawdeal in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th August 2009, 01:25
  3. A1200T shows white screen on bootup
    By burns flipper in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th June 2009, 13:29
  4. screen shots
    By loopy in forum New Users Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 30th March 2009, 13:40
  5. WinUAE 1.4.0 AVI output mutes play session
    By Agram in forum New Users Area
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12th March 2007, 12:34

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com