Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: File size

  1. #1
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,122
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    File size

    I have just used a programme called Unstoppable Copier to copy all the data on an IDE hard drive, 'D:', to a partition on a SATA hard drive, 'F:'.

    I'm pretty sure it copied all the data across.

    However, drive 'D:' appears to be 113.9GB used, whereas drive 'F:' is only 106.4GB used.

    Any idea why this is? Both partitions are FAT32. According to Defraggler, 'D:' has 43% fragmentation. Perhaps this could have something to do with it?

  2. #2
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    What size are the different partitions? That can sometimes have an effect on the file sizes.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  3. #3
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,122
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    The 'D:' partition is about 115GB and the 'F:' partition is about 119GB, so it isn't much bigger.

  4. #4
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Do you have file compression on drive f:?
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  5. #5
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,601
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Were the sector sizes setup the same on both drives?

    Also, why are you still using FAT32? Should ditch that ASAP and move to NTFS.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  6. #6
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,122
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Were the sector sizes setup the same on both drives?

    Also, why are you still using FAT32? Should ditch that ASAP and move to NTFS.
    Not sure about the sector sizes .

    It probably isn't necessary, but I made the new partition FAT32 to retain compatibility with anything which doesn't like NTFS. It is unlikely that I will be adding any new data to this partition though as all new data will be on other NTFS/Linux partitions.

Similar Threads

  1. File transfer from A1200 to USB
    By Cortona in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th September 2009, 12:49
  2. Avatar size limits
    By Bloodwych in forum Feedback and FAQs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th January 2009, 13:44
  3. PSP file resources
    By Harrison in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th July 2007, 12:12
  4. File managers
    By Harrison in forum General Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 6th April 2007, 18:32
  5. Kickstart and file requests
    By Harrison in forum FAQs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th December 2006, 16:05

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com