Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Mac won't boot up!

    I have just purchased the Native Instruments Maschine. However, after trying to update to the new software (Version 1.5) my Mac will no longer boot! It sits at a white screen with the Apple logo and a status bar....it gets about 20% through and then shuts down! Is there any way to get into safe mode? I've tried holding down shift...it doesn't do anything?
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    It has been a long time since I used Macs properly, but its interesting to see the same things still happens that used to happen on the old OS8 and 9. Corrupt piece of software and the whole OS goes down.

    You should be able to put your Mac OSX install disc in the machine and boot from that. It will offer a recovery option.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Finally trying that option, will see what happens.

    I've noticed that, things work nicely until something goes wrong. When it goes wrong, you can do almost nothing to fix it
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  4. #4
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I believe you can start MacOSX in a verbose mode, and I think there is also a 'safe mode'.

    Can't remember how you access them though.

  5. #5
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Tried the safe mode - no dice. I started up using my install disc...harddrive failure. Phone call to Apple tomorrow!
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

Similar Threads

  1. A1000 will not boot up
    By dparrott in forum Hardware
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 20:23
  2. Boot sale bargin
    By StuKeith in forum Amiga
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th August 2008, 03:19
  3. Ultimate Boot CD
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd January 2008, 20:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com