Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Formatting a 1TB external harddrive to FAT32?

    Hello all...

    I just bought a new external 1TB Western Digital HD. I am trying to format it to FAT32 so that I can read AND write to it on my Mac. I have another external HD which is 750 GB which is FAT32....How can I format into FAT32?
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  2. #2
    Dangerous Inactive Member
    woody.cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northampton UK
    Posts
    412
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    FAT32 is limited to 256GB maximum (although later versions of Windows try to stop you formatting FAT32 partitions bigger than 32GB)

    Can MacOS not read/write NTFS partitions? ... I know that quite a few Linux distros can do this nowadays.

  3. #3
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    found it on youtube
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Mac OSX natively supports NTFS formatted disks since 10.4.1, so I highly recommend you format it with that and not FAT32. FAT32 is unstable and prone to bad fragmentation, and that is on smaller HDDs, so imagine on a 1TB drive. NTFS was designed from the ground up to be more robust, less likely to fragment, and much more stable.

    I don't know if it has been changed since 10.4.1, but OSX couldn't format a disk to NTFS, only use them. So you will need to format the disk in Windows first.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    well I plugged my NTFS formatted drive into my Mac and it said read only?? Will see if I can do any updates...
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I seem to remember the NTFS support isn't enabled fully as standard in OSX and you have to enable it somewhere in the OS settings.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Poor Inactive Member
    AndyLandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    72
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    You can download a freeware tool for Windows XP called "Fat32Format" that surpasses the arbitrary 32GB limit that XP's normal format enforces:

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/...32format.shtml
    A1200 - 68020/14, 1.4GB, 6MB
    A2000 - 68030/25, 4GB, 67MB
    A4000 - Still needs work...
    CD32 & CDTV too!

  8. #8
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    I seem to remember the NTFS support isn't enabled fully as standard in OSX and you have to enable it somewhere in the OS settings.
    Yea, that's if you update to Snow Leopard. Not wanting to do that atm, works fine for me...I don't need to do that right now...

    I've been using FAT32 on my other drive since 2007 and had no problems!
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  9. #9
    Average Vangar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newcastle Australia
    Posts
    100
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Maybe create a partition that's around 10gb for transfer between windows/mac, then keep the rest of it NTFS? That's what i usually do and it seems to work fine...
    Previously known as Nerdpower50.

  10. #10
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I can do file transfer fine...it's that I need to be able to edit tags and such on the songs that are there, I also need to be able to edit them in music software programs, so I need to have it stored in that way...if only Mac and Windows could get along in certain aspects...
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Formatting 720KB Floppy under XP/Vista
    By Harrison in forum Software
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 6th November 2010, 23:08
  2. winUaE USB harddrive issue.
    By StuKeith in forum Emulation discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st September 2008, 19:32
  3. amiga harddrive
    By gareth_2008 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th April 2008, 00:49
  4. Nightmare Harddrive issues
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th September 2007, 12:40

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com