Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Harmless Inactive Member
    My location

    rbusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Bohemia, Czech republic
    Posts
    20
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Motherboard Upgrade

    Hellooah

    I wanna upgrade my A500 with these components:

    Fatter Agnus - found in ol' miggy A600
    and Kickstart 2.04 / 2.05 (i have all versions) - cuz I need more compatible WB apps

    Just wanna ask if I can JUST put the chips in the sockets or if I must do somethin' more difficult.

    Has some guy experience?
    Motherboard revision = 6A && 1 Meg RAM and new Chinon FD (ol' ROM = 1.3)
    Before: Texas instruments TI-30S - Didaktik GAMA| Amiga A500; A600; A1200 |After: PC - GP2X - Laptop

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Most of the chips in the A600 are surface mounted, rather than socketed, although if you do have a socketed Fatter Agnus from an A600 then it should work.

    Failing that, A2000/A1500 chips should all be compatible with the A500.

    Or look for an A500 Plus, as that will give you a proper ECS A500.

    For the most out of WB consider Kickstart 3.1 also, as you could then use Workbench 3.1 and if you have a sidebus HDD you could create a good HDD setup.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Harmless Inactive Member
    My location

    rbusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Bohemia, Czech republic
    Posts
    20
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    And....

    And.... Socketted Kickstart ?? (only)
    Before: Texas instruments TI-30S - Didaktik GAMA| Amiga A500; A600; A1200 |After: PC - GP2X - Laptop

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Yep, only the Kickstart is socketed on the A600 so it can be upgraded to 3.1, or downgraded to 1.3 if you wished. Most after-market third party upgraded for the A600 used a piggyback system with the expansions fitting over the existing chips, rather than being able to replace them via socketed chips, as you could with the A500.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. strange and mysterious motherboard
    By rbusa in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 22:39
  2. FS/WTT: Motherboard, CPU, RAM, GFX-card
    By Puni/Void in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th December 2009, 13:11
  3. Intel motherboard D5400XS
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th March 2008, 15:44
  4. HD and motherboard
    By JLPedro in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th November 2007, 00:42
  5. New Athlon XP motherboard?
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th October 2007, 20:26

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com