Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Hackintosh

  1. #1
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14

    Hackintosh

    Has anyone here built a Hackintoch, or is thinking about it?

    Hackintosh = running Mac OS 10.5 or 10.6 on an unsupported computer.

    I was just looking around a few of the many sites on this subject, and it seems that there are a lot of people doing this, especially to create a laptop running OSX.

    One site called http://www.hackintosh.com/ contains links to loads of information and guides on doing this.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #2
    Harmless optiguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I have a Hack not all that tough to get going as long as you have the right hardware.
    I am running a DFI bloodiron mobo, with a q 6600 and its very stable, you just have to watch out for updates they can wreck you sysytem.
    Last edited by optiguy; 10th April 2010 at 22:51.

  3. #3
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Wouldn't do it...I find the Mac OS very limiting, I'm used to how the PC works and how you can alter things...
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  4. #4
    Average Vangar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newcastle Australia
    Posts
    100
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I have hackintosh running on VMware fusion, but it rarely comes in handy...
    Previously known as Nerdpower50.

  5. #5
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I thought about running OSX on my new machine, but havn't got round to trying yet. I'm not sure if all my hardware is compatible.

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Intel CPU, so that will make it easier. Looking through a lot of the hacks and patches to make it work, it seems a lot of hardware combinations can be made to work. However the newest OSX doesn't seem to work as easily as the last.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Harmless optiguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I tried getting snow leopard running and it proved to be to much trouble, but leopard runs great and you can multi boot with windows or linux so you are not tied to one os.

  8. #8
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Vangar View Post
    I have hackintosh running on VMware fusion, but it rarely comes in handy...
    VMware fusion? That is a Mac OSX virtulisation emulator, so are you in fact running Windows on your Mac? Not OSX on a PC?

    But anyway, I hadn't thought of installing OSX on a virtual machine, as I was considering setting it up as a dual boot setup on an Intel PC, but it would be a nicer solution to do this.

    I've had the PPC versions of OSX running fine using PearPC emulation in the past, and I think for the playing around I would only need OSX for, a virtual machine setup would be ideal.

    Quote Originally Posted by Submeg
    Wouldn't do it...I find the Mac OS very limiting, I'm used to how the PC works and how you can alter things...
    Whilst OSX is still quite a nice OS in its own right, I also find it quite limiting and restrictive compared to Windows, especially Vista/Win7.

    But, also as you say, you are used to how Windows works, so OSX will always feel a little alien in the way it does things. It just depends on what you have grown up with, or used for years.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #9
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I've just been reading about people managing to installed OSX 10.6 using VMWARE7, so I'm very interesting in playing around with this idea.

    One article discussing this with a short guide is here. But there are many more also exploring it.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #10
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    OSX is still quite a nice OS
    I will remember that you said that.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com