Poll: Will you be upgrading to Vista?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 57
  1. #11
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,580
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Built for you? Have you considered trying to build one yourself?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #12
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    rayzorblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Carlisle
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    not really ill get my dad to build it for me i not the technically gifted type, although i did install my dvd drive lol
    [URL="http://www2.b3ta.com/heyhey16k/"]Hey Hey 16k by Rob Manuel[/URL] [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  3. #13
    Competent My location

    FOL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    325
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I will not be upgrading to Vista, simple fact is because compatability sucks. Also i dont like being held randsom. I was looking forward to halo2, and its released as Vista ONLY.

    M$ are complete AR**S.
    On news of PSPUAE update on DCEMU came this reply, lol.

    [quote=djk21108;]this will sure make that horace guy happy....[/quote]

  4. #14
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,580
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I will eventually end up using Vista as my main OS at some point, but not yet.

    It does have some very nice changes such as the new search facilities, and I like the new way directories work with a Directory Opus style navigation system. And some of the new features such as the games area is a nice idea, although developers will need to directly support.

    I can see the logic behind everything that has been done with Vista. There has to come a time when you have to launch a new OS and leave some of the past behind and move on. They have done that with Direct X 10, as well as the ideas for Live! support for PC games, creating a proper central gaming network for PC gamers rather than the current fragmented one with different games using different networks.

    It's just going to take some time for everything to be ironed out and for developers to catch up, and for consumers to move on.

    And we still have XP. It's not like it has just vanished with the launch of Vista. Dual booting or even running XP as a virtual machine on a dual or quad core equipped Vista system are other options to maintain compatibility.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #15
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,105
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Does anyone here have a copy of Vista that I could errm, borrow?

    I am certainly not switching to Vista, but I do want to try it out, mostly because I could do with trying out some Mac emulators and comparing them to XP/2000.

  6. #16
    Burn! Hot Blooded Rhythm Soul! Staff Moderator
    My location

    J T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    'STRAYA (since 2010)
    Posts
    1,665
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    'Fraid not. I don't know how easy it is to find cracked, give the usual torrent sites a look I guess.

    You do know the system requirements are fairly high, right?

    Let us know how you get on.

  7. #17
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,580
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I was about to say that. What PC spec were you going to try and run Vista on?

    512MB ram minimum! And then it won't be nice to use. 1GB ram is really the minimum. And a 3GHz CPU is also really the minimum too.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #18
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,388
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I installed it 3 mounths ago in my Asys AV6A i have 1GB Ram but windows was quite slow, i got small problems with some devices.
    I think Vista consumes 512MB of Ram just to be sitting on the Sofa, if you want to stand up, more 512MB.... and so on....

  9. #19
    The Darth Popsicle! VIP
    Bug Champion Sharingan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Olanda!
    Posts
    1,083
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Whenever I hear 'Vista', I immediately think 'Digital Rights Management', and that alone is enough to make me want to not touch it with a ten-foot pole. Also, I've heard horror stories of people needing to call Microsoft to reactivate their copy of Windows after swapping around a stick of DDR-RAM? What the hell.

    I'll stick to XP for a while yet.

  10. #20
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,580
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    As with XP, no point changing until it has been reliably cracked.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. CPU upgrade options and recommendations
    By Harrison in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9th January 2009, 14:33
  2. Multicore processors and upgrading to Vista.
    By Harrison in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th February 2007, 05:45
  3. How to: PSP upgrade to 3.02 OE-B custom firmware
    By Oz2 in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th January 2007, 00:39
  4. Finally found out how to upgrade my PSP to 3.0.3 OE-B
    By Harrison in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th January 2007, 16:43
  5. PPC upgrade options for classic Amiga systems
    By Harrison in forum Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th December 2006, 17:20

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com