Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Harmless Inactive Member
    odium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    a2000 8MB expansion memory limit ?

    hi folks !

    i have a strange behaviour with my a2000 :

    i've installed A2630 CPU accelerator board with 4MB RAM integrated, and it works perfectly.

    now, in my GVA series II SCSI HD +8 board i've added 8 MB RAM, so normally i must have 4 + 8 = 12MB, but WB 3.1 only sees a total of 8 MB.

    is there some kind of expanded memory limit to 8 MB due to software WB 3.1 ?

    machine specs:

    a2000 2MB chip RAM / B2000-CR rev 6.1 mainboard
    A2630 accelerator board - rev 9.1
    GVA series II - SCSI controller +8 MB RAM
    KS 3.1 - WB 3.1

    PS: booting the A2630 in 68000 mode makes no difference, and the GVA controller slots are correctly installed and jumped (J6-J8)

    thanks for any advise !
    Accolade presents ...

  2. #2
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    3.1 should not limit the amount of memory. Does the 4MB of memory on the 2630 work without the GVP? It may be a hardware clash.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  3. #3
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I'm also thinking it could be a member clash, with 2 different memories trying to address the same space. Might be some jumper settings to fix it.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. Workbench version form my A2000 ?
    By odium in forum Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th December 2009, 23:30
  2. Fit more PSP ISOs on your memory stick using CSO
    By Harrison in forum Handheld Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th January 2008, 16:32
  3. Amiga A2000
    By Harrison in forum Ebay Picks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th November 2007, 13:41
  4. Memory issues in Apollo
    By StuKeith in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th October 2007, 11:37
  5. Your first memory?
    By Harrison in forum Amiga
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 5th May 2007, 10:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com