ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

MorphOS and Mac Mini

MorphOS is now available for the Mac Mini G4. Have any of you tried it out yet? If yes, what do you think? If no, are you considering getting a Mac Mini to run MorphOS?

I'm a bit tempted to check it out myself, but I have no experience with MorphOS whatsoever. Neither do I have any experience with Mac's. Hope you can help me out on a few questions;

1) Is a Mac Mini G4 up-to-date? I'm then thinking of the newest OS for Mac and general software. Will it run Leopard properly if the machine has 1GB of RAM?

2) If I'm going to buy such a machine, I'm going to use it for office work related to one of my jobs, some gaming, P2P and emulation. Will it be sufficient for this?

3) Emulation, as mentioned above, is a bit important to me. Is the Mac Mini G4 capable of emulating the same platforms as the PC?

4) I would like to dual-boot MorphOS and Leopard if possible. Does anyone know if I can run AmigaOS 4 stuff via MorphOS and if it's any good when it comes to running legacy Amiga stuff (68K)? I remember Buleste writing something about the fact that it is a bit limited.

5) How much should I expect to pay for a Mac Mini G4?

I know this was a lot of questions. Thanks in advance for helping out.
    Classicamiga.com Moderator/Demoscene Admin
    Member of the Amiga demo group Void
    Admin of Old School Game Blog

Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Quote Originally Posted by P G View Post
    MorphOS is now available for the Mac Mini G4. Have any of you tried it out yet? If yes, what do you think? If no, are you considering getting a Mac Mini to run MorphOS?