Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,399
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Help - got a kickstart for A600 (40.63)

    Hi,

    i bought from ebay one kickstart for A600, the 40.63 i put it in my miggy, but it does not do anything, no video, no sound, nothing. I remove and put my old 37.300 and works fine.

    The rom is not an Amiga original, it has some kind of plastic part on top,i guess is a programed ROM, as long as it works.... fine.... but it doesn't. I am sure i am putting it the correct way... any ideas ?
    A500 - A600 - A1200

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Version 40.63 is the correct version of 3.1 for use with an A600, so either you don't have the chip installed the correct way or it isn't working.

    If it is an Eprom it will have what looks like a small clear window in the centre which can be used to erase the chip with UV light. It is actually illegal to sell eproms with a copy of kickstart on them so the seller was breaking the law selling you that chip. I hope you didn't pay much?

    Sometimes the Eprom used is slower than a real Kickstart rom chip and the Amiga doesn't wait long enough for the rom to access it and so won't work.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,399
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Version 40.63 is the correct version of 3.1 for use with an A600, so either you don't have the chip installed the correct way or it isn't working.

    If it is an Eprom it will have what looks like a small clear window in the centre which can be used to erase the chip with UV light. It is actually illegal to sell eproms with a copy of kickstart on them so the seller was breaking the law selling you that chip. I hope you didn't pay much?

    Sometimes the Eprom used is slower than a real Kickstart rom chip and the Amiga doesn't wait long enough for the rom to access it and so won't work.
    If it is an Eprom
    Yes, that's it
    I hope you didn't pay much?
    no it was cheap

    talked with seller, and he asks to ship it back and then he could refund.... let's see if price of shipping it back is not almost the same price as ROM .... Portuguese post office sometimes are a bit
    A500 - A600 - A1200

  4. #4
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,399
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    He just refund me :-)
    i will send the ROM to him.

    I am thinking in buying one from amigakit.com, i am afraid of Eproms now...
    and a real Amiga ROM for A600 is not easy to get, and the ones i see are very expensive....
    I will put a post on amibay
    A500 - A600 - A1200

  5. #5
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,399
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Seller receive the rom back try it, and it didn't work, so is not from my A600 :-)
    A500 - A600 - A1200

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    That is good. Are you going to get another 3.1 rom from him?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,399
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    really i don't know, you said the original are a bit faster then the eprom... so i dont now... But it is much cheaper then an original rom...
    A500 - A600 - A1200

  8. #8
    Mostly Harmless Inactive Member
    My location

    xpect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    37
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Tiago if you're paying cheaper but don't work, what's the point?

    I think if you pay more in a proved dealer and with 100% guarantee that'll work i think it's the way to go. And then you can't go further than kick 3.1, so it's a lifetime (or as long it keeps working) investment for you A600.

  9. #9
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,597
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    And even if the A600 died you could pull the roms out and put them into another one.

    You can buy original 3.1 roms for only 18.38 from amigakit.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th July 2009, 22:27
  2. Kickstart 1.3 with WHDload?
    By woody.cool in forum WHDLoad
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th June 2009, 07:09
  3. A600 Kickstart and HDs
    By Harrison in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th August 2008, 23:43
  4. Kickstart 3.0 -> 3.1 in A1200. Done!
    By Tiago in forum Amiga
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th September 2007, 10:34
  5. A1200 Kickstart 3.0 Vs 3.1
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd September 2007, 21:52

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com