Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14

    Dolphin Gamecube/Wii emulator

    Has anyone tried the more recent versions of the Dolphin emulator?

    When I tried it shortly after it first appears it didn't run much, but I was just seeing how far the project had come and was blown away.

    It can now emulate and run most Gamecube games very well. Just look at Youtube for some great examples of the emulator running some Gamecube games.

    But it goes better. It can now also emulate Wii games. I watched a video of Super Mario Galaxy and it emulates it perfectly.

    The Wii SMG video is found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iy7zRdD6JhU

    The Gamecube SMS can be found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cS7AqHdaMWc

    I've going to be test driving the 64bit version of this emulator tomorrow.


    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I also just found a better video showing Twilight Princess running under Wii emulation, and it shows the emulator being setup and launched.

    Time to download some Wii ISOs I think!

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,135
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    I tested it a month ago, when I updated all of my emulators, and the compatibility was quite amazing. Didn't try any Wii games yet, as I don't need anymore now But I already have 25 games

  4. #4
    It's always caturday! My location

    Shoonay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    350
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Just tried it in Luigi's Mansion (the smallest ISO I could find ) and DAMN!
    That's the first time I see both my CPU's cores working at 100%!
    I know my hardware is rather old (see my sig) and I didn't expect much, but 8-10FPS is a bit too low - I remember getting way more than that on accelerated Crash Bandicoot2 with some PSX emulator (Bleem was it? or the mac emu...) on my good old trusty Celeron 333MHz back in '99.
    Anyways, despite the emu speed - without the sound it's pretty useless imho

  5. #5
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,135
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
    I know my hardware is rather old (see my sig)
    You don't have a sig

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    The Gamecube is a much more complex system that the PSX was by quite some margin. Emulating its 128bit 485MHz CPU is going to be quite taxing alone, plus the ATI graphics chip, and then for sound you then have to factor in its 64 channel 16bit DSP that supported Dolby, DTS and AC3.

    It is a surpise they have managed to emulate the Gamecube and Wii at all.

    I think the speed of the emulation is more down to the graphics card you have as well as the cpu and ram.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    It's always caturday! My location

    Shoonay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    350
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Demon Cleaner View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
    I know my hardware is rather old (see my sig)
    You don't have a sig
    Yes I do, a graphical one just like your but mine is 'clickable' and actually leads somewhere ;p

    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    The Gamecube is a much more complex system that the PSX was...
    Yes, I do realize that, but... DAMN, couldn't they improve the emulation (at least the sound) after all these years? Same goes for PS2...
    You guys remember when they told emulating PSX or N64 was impossible back then? I remember one day (a few months after Gran Turismo came out) grabbing my newest monthly issue of PSX Extreme magazine and they've introduced a 100% working PSX emulator (showing Gran Turismo) and a N64 one (showing Mario 64).
    Now that was a shocker.

  8. #8
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,135
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    I don't see your sig??

    Last edited by Demon Cleaner; 31st July 2009 at 19:02.

  9. #9
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,575
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I can see his sig. Maybe you have some adblocking software running?

    I remember UltraHLE suddenly appearing in 1998 and being blown away by how well it could emulate the N64. And I had a Voodoo II card at the time as well so it was fully supported.

    And the early PSX emulation was impressive too. Especially with how it could improve the texture quality. Although N64 emulation was more impressive because it shows how N64 games were not fixed to one resolution. I ran Mario 64 in 1024x768 at the time and it looked so much better than on a real N64. The horrid full screen smudgy anti-aliasing completely gone.

    I just haven't seen the same level of interest in people wanting to emulate the xbox or PS2. The hardware is really cheap these days, and the original xbox faily easy to softmod, and the PS2 easy to chip or use a mod swap disc, so it isn't so important I suppose.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #10
    It's always caturday! My location

    Shoonay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    350
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Demon Cleaner View Post
    I don't see your sig??
    Guess something blocks www.xfire.com stuff for you... NoScript?

    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    I just haven't seen the same level of interest in people wanting to emulate the xbox or PS2. The hardware is really cheap these days, and the original xbox faily easy to softmod, and the PS2 easy to chip or use a mod swap disc, so it isn't so important I suppose.
    Yup, that must be it... still, I somehow don't feel that way with getting any newer consoles since Dreamcast came out... these days I don't even play that much... :/
    Oh well, maybe one day. (Whatever it will be, a 100% working emulator or a real console )

Similar Threads

  1. Amiga Monitor w/emulator?
    By zedrein in forum Amiga Emulators
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd September 2010, 08:06
  2. HxC Floppy Emulator
    By JLPedro in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th November 2008, 05:15
  3. FM-Towns Unz emulator and Eye of the Beholder 2?
    By Agram in forum General Retro Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th May 2007, 19:11

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com