Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Dangerous Inactive Member
    woody.cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northampton UK
    Posts
    412
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Angry Strange problem with floppy disks and my Amiga 2000

    Hi all,

    I've got a wierd problem.
    My A2000 has started doing something strange.
    If I put a write-protected disk in any drive (internal or external) it's fine, but if I put a write-enabled disk in any drive, it corrupts the data beyond recognition, even on my known working external drive.

    When it corrupts the disk, you don't even need to attempt to write to the disk, it corrupts it upon AmigaDOS reading the disk.

    I dount it's a virus, as I've run several virus checkers and they don't pick anything up.

    For information, the A2000 is the following:

    - Amiga 2000 NTSC model (unsure of mobo rev)
    - Kickstart 1.3 & Workbench 1.3.3
    - 2x Internal floppy drives
    - A2091 SCSI controller with 2GB SCSI drive

    Although not always connected, I've also tried an external drive (as DF2 and that has the same problem, but is fine on my other Amigas

    I suspect my floppy controller chip is knackered.

    btw. it's not just in AmigaDOS that this happens ..... even attempting to do a CheckDisk in Xcopy Pro on a write-enabled disk will destroy it's contents (and checkdisk doesn't write anything !?!)

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,572
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I've never had such a problem, but it definitely sounds like a floppy drive I/O chip error if it is happening with all drives you tried. Motherboard chips are mostly all socketed on the A2000 so you should be able to repair it. Does the A2000 have CIA chips similar to the A500? That would be the first thing I would test if it had been an A500, by swapping those two over.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Dangerous Inactive Member
    woody.cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northampton UK
    Posts
    412
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    I've never had such a problem, but it definitely sounds like a floppy drive I/O chip error if it is happening with all drives you tried. Motherboard chips are mostly all socketed on the A2000 so you should be able to repair it. Does the A2000 have CIA chips similar to the A500? That would be the first thing I would test if it had been an A500, by swapping those two over.
    It all went a bit pete tong the other night, so now I've got a completely dead A2000
    Yep, they do have CIA chips, and swapping them made no difference

    I've now 'given' the A2000 (minus all my expansion cards & floppy drive) to a friend of mine, who needs one for spares.

Similar Threads

  1. How many floppy disks did/do you own?
    By Harrison in forum Software
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 20th June 2010, 20:25
  2. Floppy Problem?
    By VirtualRyan in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd April 2009, 12:34
  3. Strange MAME XArcade problem
    By Demon Cleaner in forum MAME
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th April 2009, 02:57
  4. A500 floppy disks on A1200 and bootblocks
    By Noelozzy in forum Amiga
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st May 2008, 23:06
  5. New DD Floppy disks available.
    By Harrison in forum Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd October 2007, 17:07

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com