Poll: Which browser(s) do you regularly use?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 50
  1. #11
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,130
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    Switched from Firefox 2 to 3 some days ago and basically use it most of the time.

  2. #12
    Dangerous Inactive Member
    woody.cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northampton UK
    Posts
    412
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    All the cool kids are Firefoxed up nowadays

  3. #13
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I use FF3 and IE7 (well I don't my mother does) which I've just upgraded to IE8. IE8 the most nothing upgrade ever. Whereas there was a big change graphically between 6 and 7, IE8 is the same as 7. I can't tell any difference. The only thing that's prbably different is the fact that M$ have released more M$ tying software and protocols so that you have to use M$ software or else!
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  4. #14
    ELITE v85rawdeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    1,334
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by woody.cool View Post
    All the cool kids are Firefoxed up nowadays
    Yey, I'm cool (but don't tell Buleste that...)
    This is not a signature

  5. #15
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by v85rawdeal View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by woody.cool View Post
    All the cool kids are Firefoxed up nowadays
    Yey, I'm cool (but don't tell Buleste that...)
    Going round setting wildlife alight doesn't count. You can't be Roastedsquirreled or Flambedbadgered either.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  6. #16
    Deadly VIP
    TiredOfLife's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,067
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Stuck with IE7 at work.
    The pc that is not connected to our network but is connected to the internet has Firefox3.

    At home I use Safari on my Ipod Touch and OWB which is a webkit based browser, on my Amiga.
    Sam440EP & AOS4.1, 250 gig SATA HD & DVD Rewriter.

    Towered A1200 3.1 rom, OS3.9 and OS4.0
    PPC 166 mhz 060 50mhz, 192 meg.
    Buffered Interface, 40 & 80 gig HDs, CD & DVD Rewriters.
    Mediator 1200TX, Voodoo 5500, Radeon ATI 9200, Audio, USB, Ethernet, TV/FM.
    Card reader and 19" TFT Monitor.

  7. #17
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Safari... shudders! What a horrible browser. Well, I don't like it anyway. OK, it does render webpages correctly as it sticks to the same web standards as Firefox and Opera do. However I just can't get past the really horrible Apple full page anti aliasing they force the browser to use, even on the PC version.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #18
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,104
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    At least in MacOSX, if you hack the anti aliasing setting to off, there will be no anti aliasing in Safari.

    But I'd say it is better than the Cleartype that IE7 forces upon you if you don't get chance to switch it off when you load IE up on your non-roaming profile on a big network. (Luckily most of the computers in college also have Firefox).

    I really should have a go at getting OWB going sometime.

  9. #19
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Cleartype is an OS level setting on Vista. Therefore it can be turned off and will then not be a part of IE. Personally I like Cleartype. It improves text a lot on LCD monitors. However if you are using a CRT then it doesn't help, and should be switched off.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #20
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,104
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I was refering to how it comes on by default in IE7 on Windows XP, even if XP has it switch off.

    Of course, if college hadn't got rid of roaming profiles, I could have switched it off the first time I loaded it up and kept it switch off, but instead I have to switch it off every time I get IE up.

    I expect Cleartype can be set up to an extent that it would be quite nice, but as I don't use XP I have never been able to fiddle with it much. It really isn't good for my eyes most of the times I have seen it (with small fonts at least).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com