Harmless Inactive Member
    Downloads
    Uploads

Amiga Monitor w/emulator?

I'm certain this subject has been done to death, so please bear with me as I'm new to it. Basically I recently happened across a old Commodore 1084 monitor, I've been planning to use it with my old gaming consoles for RGB picture. As I'm sure most of you know, the 1084* accepts a 15kHz RGB signal, whereas VGA computer cards put out a 31kHz sync--I've heard of a program called "Soft 15kHz" that allows windows to display 15kHz video...I was just wondering what it would take to hook my 1084 display to my PC. Will I have to make a cable with one VGA connector on one end and a Commodore 1084 connector at the other while running soft 15kHz software? Please let me know if this can be done, and the specifics of doing this. I would love to play emulated Amiga games on a REAL Commodore monitor!

*=The 1084 is also interlaced signal only whereas most PC video cards are progressive scan.

Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I hadn't heard of this "Soft 15kHz" software before.

Before this software the only ways were to install a special graphics card designed for the retro arcade cabinet market that can output the lower frequency resolutions. Or to output using a graphics card with a S-Video/Composite output (which a Commodore monitor can accept).