Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: PCMCIA Problem

  1. #1
    Poor Inactive Member
    Castelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    68
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    PCMCIA Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
    @Castelle

    So tell me about the PCMCIA problem, i have read similar issues with this on other forums, most notably eab.abime.net, do you have any fast ram with you a1200 or is she a standard stock 2mb chip machine ?

    you find out I love amiga problems, its like sudoku.... damn adictive...

    anyway. please enjoy your stay
    Hi, Is this the right place? I'm not going to get banned after just one posting ?
    Yes, the problem I am having is that I recently bought EasyADF off AmigaKit.com and while the software is first class and I can transfer large amounts of data from my Mac to my Amiga with a USB card reader. I have a standard 8MB card in my Amiga and the thing is blocking my PCMCIA slot - I am having to keep removing a jumper from the Amiga Fast Card to disabled said card so that I can transfer the data. OK? I get there in the end but with only 2MB copying files its incredibly S-L-O-W !!!
    If you go to ebay.com or ebay.co.uk and enter : 110251781948

    It will come up with a picture of my fast ram card - I must state this IS NOT my auction - its just a picture - only difference to mine is that I don't have the FPU enabled. To be honest with you, I bought it second hand and it came with no instructions...

    My question is, if I upgraded this card with a decent accelerator, do you know of any that wont interfere with the PCMCIA slot ?

    My guessing a decent Blizzard would work OK?

    Over to you

    Regards,

    Castelle

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,564
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    I've moved your post into the Amiga Hardware section to that anyone else with similar problems can find it easily.

    Regarding your problem. It is due to you using an 8MB fast ram expansion with the A1200. Later cards fixed this problem, but earlier ram expansions and accelerators conflict with the PCMCIA card if more than 4MB of fast ram is installed.

    Blizzard and similar 030 and above accelerators do not have this problem and work perfectly with PCMCIA cards.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Deadly Inactive Member
    My location

    Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    541
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    I've moved your post into the Amiga Hardware section to that anyone else with similar problems can find it easily.

    Regarding your problem. It is due to you using an 8MB fast ram expansion with the A1200. Later cards fixed this problem, but earlier ram expansions and accelerators conflict with the PCMCIA card if more than 4MB of fast ram is installed.

    Blizzard and similar 030 and above accelerators do not have this problem and work perfectly with PCMCIA cards.

    Harrison got that in ONE! well done sir

    indeed, you can configure your 8mb board for 4 mb fast and your PCMCIA should work perfectly fine, then turn of the a1200 and then change it back to 8mb.

    depending on your card i could build you a very small little switch that you plug onto the card, allowing you to turn off, flick a switch and turn on simple as that

    so post some pics of your 8mb card and i will see what i can do... fear not, I only charge hardware pr0n (thats pics of the item) and postage
    If i had a hammer, I would hammer in the morning, i would hammer in the evening, i would hammer all day

  4. #4
    Poor Inactive Member
    Castelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    68
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    I've moved your post into the Amiga Hardware section to that anyone else with similar problems can find it easily.

    Regarding your problem. It is due to you using an 8MB fast ram expansion with the A1200. Later cards fixed this problem, but earlier ram expansions and accelerators conflict with the PCMCIA card if more than 4MB of fast ram is installed.

    Blizzard and similar 030 and above accelerators do not have this problem and work perfectly with PCMCIA cards.
    Wow, now that's what I call an answer!!

    Thanks Zetr0 for the offer of help but I am gonna get me a Blizzard 1230 or similar
    Picking one up on ebay shouldn't be that difficult...

    Hoo hum, how I wish I'd not sold that 1260 !!

    Mutter, mutter Cuss!!!
    Amiga A1200 Desktop
    3.1 OS, 3.1 Roms
    4GB HD 2.5", 750MB EXT HD
    CD ROM, 1GB CF (PCMCIA)
    Blizzard 1230 MK4 + FPU & 128 MB RAM

  5. #5
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,014
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    @Castelle

    Thanks Zetr0 for the offer of help but I am gonna get me a Blizzard 1230 or similar. Picking one up on ebay shouldn't be that difficult...
    If you're going to look for a Blizzard 1230 on eBay, be prepeared to pay. The prices for such cards are quite steep today. An alternative to this is the great AmiBay site. There you can trade stuff with others interested in the Amiga. You can post a WTB advert there and maybe someone can help you out.

  6. #6
    Poor Inactive Member
    Castelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    68
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Hi,

    Thanks for the advice - I agree Ebay can be quite expensive plus you don't really know if you've just bought a lemon
    A, Not working
    B, Over Clocked

    Cheers,

    Castelle
    Amiga A1200 Desktop
    3.1 OS, 3.1 Roms
    4GB HD 2.5", 750MB EXT HD
    CD ROM, 1GB CF (PCMCIA)
    Blizzard 1230 MK4 + FPU & 128 MB RAM

  7. #7
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,564
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Regarding AmiBay. Classicamiga officially supports the site (in fact I host it and help run it with Zetr0 and a host of other Amiga fans) so you can guarantee it is run fairly and prices are never extortionate. It's also completely free to use. We don't charge any fees for listing items for sale, or wanted adverts, and we don't charge any fees for completed sales. It is also not an auction site, so first to get in on a sale with the price being asked gets the items. Nothing fairer than that!

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #8
    Poor Inactive Member
    Castelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    68
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Regarding AmiBay. Classicamiga officially supports the site (in fact I host it and help run it with Zetr0 and a host of other Amiga fans) so you can guarantee it is run fairly and prices are never extortionate.
    Gee thanks Harrison,

    You seem such a nice guy, all of you in fact. Some websites are terrible and when you ask for help it isn't forthcoming. Reminds me of another Amiga Stalwart when I first bought a second hand Commodore A1200 off a mate I met on Ebay (funny enough) called Steve Haywood.

    I now have a newly refurbished Amiga Technologies A1200 that I bought off Amigakit.com and to look at it, you would think its brand new, no yellowing at all.

    Thinking of which, in this day and age admitting that you are still an Amiga fan is like admitting to people that you're a Status Quo fan !!

    Well, I have joined Amibay and I looked in the hardware section and a guy is selling three Blizzards - must be fate
    Amiga A1200 Desktop
    3.1 OS, 3.1 Roms
    4GB HD 2.5", 750MB EXT HD
    CD ROM, 1GB CF (PCMCIA)
    Blizzard 1230 MK4 + FPU & 128 MB RAM

  9. #9
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,122
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    I now have a newly refurbished Amiga Technologies A1200 that I bought off Amigakit.com and to look at it, you would think its brand new, no yellowing at all.
    I did the same about a year ago, and I must admit that it came in a very good condition, nicely refurbished, no yellowing at all. I hope you can grab one of the blizzards over at AmiBay.

  10. #10
    Poor Inactive Member
    Castelle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    68
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I hope you can grab one of the blizzards over at AmiBay.
    Thanks Demon Cleaner,

    I can only do my best

    I see that you're a C64 addict. Bit of info for you, I owned a C64 from 1985 until 1989, I think then later I bought the new (then) C64C.
    I have to admit, that while the C64C with its new design 1541 was kinda cool back then but I still look back at those happy times with the classic C64 wedge.
    I was a huge music fan of the SID and still am too. The classic tunes of Rob Hubbard and Martin Galway played on my Miggy with EaglePlayer is something that I hold very special to me. Non computer people just don't understand the love and loyalty we had and have of the C64 and its big brother - The Amiga
    Last edited by Harrison; 16th May 2008 at 11:54.
    Amiga A1200 Desktop
    3.1 OS, 3.1 Roms
    4GB HD 2.5", 750MB EXT HD
    CD ROM, 1GB CF (PCMCIA)
    Blizzard 1230 MK4 + FPU & 128 MB RAM

Similar Threads

  1. Easy ADF PCMCIA A1200
    By Flusher in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 20:16
  2. EasyADF PCMCIA?
    By Toddney in forum Hardware
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 23rd January 2008, 12:44
  3. Memory Card - jumper set - PCMCIA
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd November 2007, 14:29
  4. RW writing problem
    By Demon Cleaner in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 9th July 2007, 17:12
  5. BoingBag problem
    By Demon Cleaner in forum Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd May 2007, 19:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com