Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: Got a A600!!

  1. #21
    Deadly Inactive Member
    My location

    Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    541
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Not an 030?

    LOL, no i am going to build my own from the LUCAS project, base it on 21mhz clock, if i am lucky i will try and get it upto 28mhz or faster.... it all depends on the line propagation of the CLPD's and logic chips but we shall see
    If i had a hammer, I would hammer in the morning, i would hammer in the evening, i would hammer all day

  2. #22
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,028
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    Good luck with the project, Zetro! Be sure to keep us updated on your progress.

  3. #23
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Yes, I am also excited to see what you finally can come up with.

    The A600 is a great little machine for its size and you can definitely expand and modify it quite a bit if you can source the parts. And these days where Amiga fans are mostly using their Amigas as secondary hobby machines the A600's size is great as it is portable enough to put away when not in use. An A1200 or A500 are much harder to find a storage place for.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #24
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,028
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    @Harrison

    Yes, I am also excited to see what you finally can come up with.

    The A600 is a great little machine for its size and you can definitely expand and modify it quite a bit if you can source the parts. And these days where Amiga fans are mostly using their Amigas as secondary hobby machines the A600's size is great as it is portable enough to put away when not in use. An A1200 or A500 are much harder to find a storage place for.
    The small size is exactly one of the reasons that made me purchase an Amiga 600. The fact that it is expandable is a big bonus. Have ordered a CF-card and adapter for it, and I hope to get some more memory as well.

  5. #25
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Just painted the case of the A600 and it looks very nice and white (post some pictures later).
    But nnow i have another problem, after mounting the case and hardware back together, i booted the machine and it showed a yellow screen and flashing power led, did dis 2 or 3 times and then booted normaly, but now there is some problems with the sound output, the sound is rubish at some frequencies, and makes noises even when just waiting for disk to boot.
    Can someone give-me some idea of the problem? capacitors?( all look good, the board is clean and looks like new) kickstart chips? (the hack is a bit home made so it may be faulty, the issues are both on 1.3 kick or 2.05 v37.299). I was so happy with it and restoring it was wounderfull and now this...

  6. #26
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Could be a grounding issue. Have you checked that nothing is touching something it shouldn't in the case? Or that the metal shielding around the motherboard is correctly positioned.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #27
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Yellow flashing screens are generally a ROM problem. It may be that when you took it apart you might have nocked the ROMs. Try reseating them again and also just check all the solder joins just in case.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  8. #28
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Will check that. Thanks.

  9. #29
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    No luck, probably faulty Paula/IO Chip, got one NEW motherbord rev 2d from france 24 total.

  10. #30
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    If it is a problem with Paula it's strange that it's only just appeared. Try taking out ROM's cleaning contacts and reseating. Yellow screens are usually software related which means the ROM's aren't seated quite right and can cause problems with other chips.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

Similar Threads

  1. Quiz A600 Ultimate Quiz!
    By Harrison in forum Competition Archive
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 5th February 2008, 20:08
  2. Converting A600 into a console. Great work
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 29th January 2008, 13:35
  3. Floppy drive to A600 Help - brands
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th September 2007, 12:22
  4. A600 hard disk problem.
    By wilsonsamm in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st May 2007, 09:47

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com