Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 93

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Running out of HD space....

    "Funny how a HD is never big enough..." - Harrison.

    Ah, the longest running topic ever in Classicamiga history. Good to see the old turned new again.

    I haven't had this problem so far. Having limited internet access, I dont get to sit there and download much, so I have plently of space!

    That reminds me....

    Anyway, enjoy this fresh take on the topic. This is now version 2.0

    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  2. #2
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,153
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    In the past, it was no such big deal having a smaller disk, but nowadays, you can buy several disks over a year, or just replace smaller by bigger ones.

  3. #3
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    He he, that original topic must have been the best example of going off topic ever.

    And it is still true today. HD space is never big enough. I've all but run out here at the moment and am having to backup everything I download to DVD so I can delete it to make room to download the next file. Mad!

    I have however noticed that 500GB HD's have really dropped in price now so I may stick a couple in one of my systems to help out a bit. 1TB should be enough for a few months.

    But then I spotted a nice shiny 750GB HD and am now torn. Two of those would give me 1.5GB of space. but at a price. For less I could buy 4 500GB HD's and have 2TB!

    Hmm... it might be time to build a cheap PC, stick 4 500GB HD's in it, install FreeNAS on it and connect it up to the network!

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #4
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,153
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    And if you gonna use 4 HDs, you can use them in Raid 5 mode, which is very important if you store a lot of files to it. I've learned that backups are crucial, and I would literally kill myself if I'd lose data acquired over a long period.

  5. #5
    ELITE Staff Moderator
    My location

    Snake Champion, Invasion Champion Puni/Void's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2,028
    Blog Entries
    5
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    1
    Ahh, we all remembe the good old "Running out of HD space" topic.

    Demon wrote:

    And if you gonna use 4 HDs, you can use them in Raid 5 mode, which is very important if you store a lot of files to it. I've learned that backups are crucial, and I would literally kill myself if I'd lose data acquired over a long period.
    Tell me about it. One should be very aware of taking backups. I lost 80GB's of files a few months ago, and did I have backups? Fortunately I had backed up some of the more important files, which I'm happy about that. The problem with the HD is that it will not take up any electricity, so I guess the motor is down.

  6. #6
    ELITE Staff Member
    My location

    Space Invaders Champion, Flash Sprint Champion, Seconds Of Madness Champion, BMX Park Champion Submeg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,659
    Blog Entries
    3
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Lol hmm, advice that should have been sent to some people, so that this topic didnt have to be restarted....
    Check out my blog - submeg.com/

  7. #7
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    so true with children. They take up so much space.

    I still run out of hdd space though. My 2TB drive for Steam games was full last week, and it's becoming a problem with new games now taking up over 40GB each in some cases.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  8. #8
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    How much HDD storage do you have now Harrison?

    I'm still on the 500GB drive I got in early 2010 and it still has quite a bit of free space.

  9. #9
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Rough guess is somewhere around 40TB.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  10. #10
    Deadly Kin Hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Cornwall. UK.
    Posts
    953
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
    Rough guess is somewhere around 40TB.
    ROFL!
    Getting 0ld0r is mandatory - Growing up is just an option.

Similar Threads

  1. classicamiga Promotions and stats already running
    By Harrison in forum Site promotion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th January 2007, 00:10

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com