Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads

Adobe Acrobat 8.1 errors

I've been using Adobe Acrobat for many years to create and edit PDFs. Older versions from 3 to 5 were quite unstable and flaky on many systems, but since version 6 it has been very stable and easier to use with each new version. With version 8.0 being a big improvement and easier to use than any previous version.

But with the release of the Adobe studio bundles came Acrobat 8.1 and for some reason this has suddenly introduced some instability back into the product.

With 8.0 I had no errors, no crashing, no problems. But since upgrading to 8.1 I've had a host of issues, and I was wondering if anyone else has been experiencing similar issues, either with the full Acrobat 8.1 product, or with the 8.1 Acrobat reader.

The problems are:
    • PDFs loaded into the browser from weblinks on websites don't always load properly. Often the first page will load up and then the remaining pages will just be blank squares.
    • When starting the full Adobe Acrobat 8.1 application it sometimes starts the installer instead of loading the already installed application, and then proceeds to install it all again and then asks you to reboot to complete the installation. Doing so and trying to load Acrobat instead starts the installer again.
    • If trying to run Acrobat the above last point occurs with it trying to install itself again, but if I load a PDF it opens Acrobat perfectly fine and I can open, close and create PDFs.
    • When quitting Acrobat after using it to view a PDF to pops up an error message saying that Acrobat has caused an error and could not write memory at a certain address. This error seems to be happening to quite a few people when I did a Google search.