Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Harmless Inactive Member
    roger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Settings for X-Arcade controller

    There is actually an option for the X-Arcade controller under 'Game & I/O Ports', but it's only for either the left or the right controller. Although it works, I found it that a better way to set up WinUAE for the X-Arcade is to not even bother with the 'Game & I/O Ports' setting, but to use a custom keyboard configuration under 'Input' to map the controller key code to the Amiga input.
    1. Under 'Game & I/0 Ports', set port 0 to 'Mouse *'.
    2. No need to change the setting for port 1.
    3. Paste the following code into all the configurations files with which you wish to use the X-Arcade controller. Make sure you paste the code at the very end of the file. If you already have settings for 'input.4.leyboard.0', you will have to delete those.
      Code:
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.2=KEY_F1.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.3=KEY_F2.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.4=KEY_ALT_LEFT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.5=KEY_ALT_RIGHT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.6=SPC_ENTERGUI.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.7=KEY_CURSOR_DOWN.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.16=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.17=SPC_DISKSWAPPER_PREV.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.18=SPC_DISKSWAPPER_NEXT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.19=JOY1_UP.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.26=SPC_DISKSWAPPER_INSERT0.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.27=KEY_ENTER.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.29=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.30=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.31=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.32=JOY1_LEFT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.33=JOY1_DOWN.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.34=JOY1_RIGHT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.42=KEY_SPACE.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.46=SPC_QUIT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.56=JOY2_2ND_BUTTON.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.57=JOY2_3RD_BUTTON.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.72=JOY2_UP.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.75=JOY2_LEFT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.77=JOY2_RIGHT.0
      input.4.keyboard.0.button.80=JOY2_DOWN.0
      This will create a custom mapping for 'Configuration #4'. The next time you load this configuration in the WinUAE GUI, make sure you go and select 'Configuration #4' and save the configuration file.


    The mappings will be as follows. Note that they are mapped to 'Mode 1', which is the default, of the X-Arcade controller:
    Code:
    X-Arcade                   | Amiga
    ---------------------------|---------------------------------
    Left Joystick              | Joystick 1
    Left Button 1 (Left CTRL)  | Joystick 1, Button 1 (fire)
    Left Button 2 (Left Alt)   | Joystick 1, Button 2
    Left Button 3 (Space)      | Joystick 1, Button 3
    Left Button 4 (Left Shift) | Space
    Left Button 5 (Z)          |     
    Left Button 6 (X)          |     
    Left Button 7 (C)          | Quit Emulator
    Left Button 8 (5)          | Enter GUI
                               |
    Right Joystick             | Joystick 2
    Right Button 1 (A)         | Joystick 2, Button 1 (fire)
    Right Button 2 (S)         | Joystick 2, Button 2
    Right Button 3 (Q)         | Joystick 2, Button 3
    Right Button 4 (W)         | Previous Slot in Disk Swapper
    Right Button 5 (E)         | Next Slot in Disk Swapper
    Right Button 6 ([)         | Insert disk in current Disk Swapper slot in DF0:
    Right Button 7 (])         | Numpad Enter
    Right Button 8 (6)         | Cursor down
                               |
    Left Flipper Button (3)    | Left Alt
    Right Flipper Button (4)   | Right Alt
                               |
    1 Player Button (1)        | F1
    2 Player Button (2)        | F2
    Note that this setup allows the use of both Joysticks on the controller and the mouse on port 0 concurrently.

    I use this setup with MameWAH where I don't want to resort to messing with the WinUAE GUI for swapping disks and quitting the emulator. One of the buttons is mapped to 'Enter GUI' for those cases where there is no other choice.
    Most keys are mapped similarly to the X-Arcade mapping already built into WinUAE. The Flipper buttons are also mapped to the Alt keys of the Amiga, which should work with most Pinball games out there. For that purpose, one of the buttons is mapped to the 'Cursor Down' key of the Amiga.
    Last edited by roger; 8th February 2008 at 18:20.

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16,654
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Very nice. I and a few others here own the X-Arcade controller so this is very useful information. So far I've tended to just select the in-built support.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    C64 addict Staff Moderator
    My location

    Demon Cleaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    7,664
    Downloads
    7
    Uploads
    88
    I don't use the X-Arcade with WinUAE, only use it to play with MAME, PinMAME, Daphne,... Most Amiga games only need one button, so I use my Competition Pro, and that also gives me a more retro feeling.

  4. #4
    Harmless Inactive Member
    vrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I know this is a super old thread but I'm in need of some help!

    I'm using an X-Arcade with winuae and my button config is very similar to what's outlined above.. the problem is I can't seem to get any of the 3 disk swapper buttons to work!

    I have disks loaded into the disk swapper and DF0 enabled.
    The previous/next disk swapper slot buttons don't seem to do anything at all.. how do I know which slot is selected?
    Also the 'insert disk at current disk swapper slot' button seems to only EJECT the disk in DF0:.. it doesn't insert any disk in it's place..

    I've tried asking at EAB but have gotten zero response.
    Can anybody help me with this?

Similar Threads

  1. Arcade nonMAME
    By Demon Cleaner in forum MAME
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd September 2016, 21:42
  2. PS3 FragFX controller
    By Demon Cleaner in forum Modern era (7th Gen onwards)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th December 2007, 18:17
  3. Arcade memories
    By Harrison in forum Arcade
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2nd May 2007, 16:33
  4. Lemonade+WinUAE Joystick Settings
    By AlexJ in forum Emulation discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th January 2007, 14:58

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com