Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Bvision

  1. #1
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0

    Bvision

    A fully working Bvision from Sweden for 50.00 and this guy also has a PPC for sale as well.
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Amiga-1200-BVi...QQcmdZViewItem
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Nice.

    BTW, is it true that with the 040 version of the PPC Blizzard cards you can swap the CPU over for an 060? I read that on a few sites recently but was unsure as I thought the two chips wouldn't be the same pin layout.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    You can put an 060 on a 040 board if the 040 is not soldered on but is in a socket. If you have an older blizzard 040 you can put an 060 in it if it is a socket as well. Carefull of the pins though.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Cool. That is always interesting to know, although finding a 060 CPU is probably harder than finding a blizzard PPC with an 060 already installed!

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    If you have a steady hand and a good soldering iron you can overclock your PPC and 040/060 on the board but if you've just paid a lot of money for one i wouldn't recommend it.
    http://xoomer.alice.it/giorsign/overclock.html

    And now following will be posts of people who have fried their boards.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  6. #6
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    A similar thing is possible on the A4000, where you can overclock the standard 25MHz CPU board so it runs at 33MHz, and some have even had them running at 40MHz. But personally I wouldn't want to risk it and am more happy just having an A4000 that works!

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  7. #7
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Although if you are going to try to O/C the 040/060 i would reccomend getting a Crystal socket from Amikit. That way if you have overheating issues you can easily put in the old crystal without using a Soldering Iron.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

  8. #8
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Good tip, always better to be able to revert back from any mods to hardware.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #9
    I am Legion for we are many. Staff Member
    My location

    Buleste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staffordshire Moorlands
    Posts
    4,079
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I wish i'd thought of that tip before i killed my old 060 board by o/cing it. Still we live and learn, unless it's a lesson about how to handle high voltage cables and then you don't learn a thing unless you are lucky.
    A1200 Power Tower
    OS 3.9 / CGX4 / OS4.0
    Blizzard 210Mhz (overclocked to 266Mhz) 603e PPC with 25Mhz 040 (Overclocked to 33Mhz) 256Mb RAM
    ZIV
    CV64/3D
    3.2Gb HDD + 20GB HDD

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com