Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Compaq Flash

  1. #1
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Compaq Flash

    Just tried to install a 256 mb Lifetech with a compaq flash adapter and i dont know how to format it. Does it apears an incon on desktop? or the drive unformated is just visible under hd formating tools?

  2. #2
    Wiseguy Staff Moderator
    My location

    Teho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,320
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    I'd say it should appear on your desktop, if only as a ??? volume. But it may be that you only see it with the hd tools as it is. Have you tried that? Maybe just try a format DH0: from the CLI and see what happens? Could try info from CLI and see if it shows up there.

  3. #3
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Only other thing I can think, is that if it is acting like a real HD then it will definitely need to be partitioned first before the Amiga will even see it. So try an HD partitioning program and see if that works.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  4. #4
    RetroSteve! My location

    Stephen Coates's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rotherham
    Posts
    2,106
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Whereabouts is the compact flash adaptor plugged intp?

  5. #5
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    it's plugged into the 44 pin ide of the A1200.

  6. #6
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Done it! managed to partition it with hdtoolbox, after that WB reconised it like a real hd and the light blinks like the real one!
    Thanks for the help.

  7. #7
    Deadly Inactive Member
    My location

    Zetr0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    541
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    @JLPedro

    ahhh Compact Flash drives for the Amiga, nothing so rightious!! glad you get her up and running with it...

    over on the EAB there is a very long thread about compatibility and noted errors.

    one that surfaces quite often is false read errors and checksum errors,

    if you get these, then there is a cure.

    In the Hard disk Info in HDTOOLS is a setting known as MAXTRANSFERS this is not an idicator of speed, its size of the blocks to transfer.

    you would need to set this to 0x1fe0000 that should clear up any incompatibility.
    If i had a hammer, I would hammer in the morning, i would hammer in the evening, i would hammer all day

  8. #8
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,592
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Thanks for that info Zetr0. I've been considering adding a compact flash drive to my A1200 and that will be useful to know.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  9. #9
    Average Inactive Member
    My location

    JLPedro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    150
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    At this moment i have replaced the cf adapter for a real 2,5' hd (a hitachi 6GB 5400rpm), with i most say is mutch better, and i'm using os 3.5 so i have acess to the hole 6GB.

  10. #10
    @Harrison

    Here's a quick picture i did regarding the installation of a compact flash adapter via pcmcia (not tried the 44pin method yet) but this is great for a second drive or maybe even boot into workbench via a floppy / rad disk etc.

    I can't remeber all the in's an out's of it all but if anyone wants to go this way i'm sure my good friend Zetro will assist.

    Also note : The picture is styled upon Zetro's own A600 mod (if only a tiny part compared to his super mod)

    CF Adaptor 2.99 @ scan computers/bolton (and that was over a year ago)
    CF Card less than 10 "" (Validated working over at EAB before purchase)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by sarek2k; 24th January 2008 at 01:33. Reason: adding prices of cf & adaptor
    A1200 : Blizzard 030 / 4gb 2.5" Hd /64mb Edo ram/1 gb compact flash - pcmcia / internal scan doubler / Trilogic joystick mouse adaptor (works with pc optical mice) 17" Black Samtron samsung monitor...

Similar Threads

  1. Movies Monkey Island Flash Movie
    By Demon Cleaner in forum General Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 14th August 2007, 12:18

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com