Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Competent StuKeith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    371
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Hard drives in AF/UAE

    I want to backup the files on my a600/A1200 HDD. I have a usb 2.5 inch caddy and was wondering how I get AF to reconize the drives, as windows dosent.
    Cheers
    :thumbs: Amiga, Wii Amiga on wii! SORTED! :thumbs:
    [img]http://www.my-wii.co.uk/wiibanner.jpg[/img]

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    The latest version of WinUAE directly supports external devices such as USB harddrives, so you should be able to put the Amiga formatted HD in your caddy and access it using WinUAE.

    Once you have access to it you could setup a directory on your PC as a second HD in WinUAE and copy the real HD contents into it so you can back it up.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,387
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I got a pcmpcia flash memory card. It's really fast to transfer files from Amiga (600 or 1200) to PC.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,574
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    What make/model of pcmcia flash card are you using?

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    Competent StuKeith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Southampton
    Posts
    371
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Ill give that a go cheers. Need to wait for my new caddy to turn up now. I dropped the hdd and it snapped the usb from the interface off. (had to take it out as drive to big to fit in unit!)
    :thumbs: Amiga, Wii Amiga on wii! SORTED! :thumbs:
    [img]http://www.my-wii.co.uk/wiibanner.jpg[/img]

Similar Threads

  1. Movies Die Hard 4.0
    By Sharingan in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th July 2007, 14:26
  2. 1st TB hard drives to arrive
    By Demon Cleaner in forum PC - Windows, Linux, Mac
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22nd April 2007, 22:55
  3. What drives do you have connected to your Amiga?
    By Harrison in forum Hardware
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14th February 2007, 07:03
  4. How often do you defrag your drives?
    By Harrison in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 21st January 2007, 21:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com