Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Poor Inactive Member
    slicer1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    51
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    a1200 and diskdoctor question

    Well after my a500 packed up almost a decade ago. I finally got a second hand a1200 today off ebay it needed a clean though!

    it seem to be working fine but I got a couple of questions to ask.

    Last month I bought 2 copies of alien breed 2 the a500/600 version and the a1200 version. now the a500/600 works fine.

    but the a1200 version loads up you can select the options and things. However when you try and play the game the drives just keeps loading and loading nothing seems to happen. Any way I though I would try and use diskdoctor as it had fixed games in the past but it seem to have been removed from work bench 3.0? I still have my 1.3 disk which have disk doctor on it. Is it a good idea to use it in an aga game?

    Also does the a1200 power supply work with an A500?

    As I think the power supply blowing was the cause of my a500 packing up? We where all ready on our second psu

    If I try and use my a500 with the new power supply can the a500 damage the power pack?

    Also dose any one have a scan of the oscar manual as I did not get one with my a1200 and I cannot play the game with out it.

    It was a dymanite pack a1200 I got 5 commandore disk but there appears to be space for 6 is one missing?

    I have :

    Workbench 3.0
    Amiga Extras
    Storage
    Amiga Fonts
    Locale

    Thanks
    slicer1000
    A500 1/1
    A1200 1/1

    Project X rules

  2. #2
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,464
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    Great to hear you finally purchased another Amiga.

    First the last question. The standard A1200 only came with the 5 disks you listed. The 6th disk is the Workbench HD Install disk, but it was only included with A1200's and other Amigas if they came factory installed with an HD.

    Now to power supplies. All power supplies are compatible with all models of Amiga. A500, A500+, A600 and A1200 PSUs will work with any of those models. But I warn you against using an A1200 PSU with an A500 as you may overload and blow the PSU.

    The reason is because the A500 PSU supplies 60W, whereas the A1200 one only supplies 22W. This is why many A1200 owners used the stronger A500 PSUs when they added accelerator cards as the standard A1200 PSU could not cope. I'm not sure how much power a standard A500 needs, but it is more than a standard unexpanded A1200.

    Finally Alien Breed 2. If the floppy drive just keeps trying to load the game, but never finishes then you have a corrupt disk.

    Disk Doctor was removed for a reason from 3.0. It was rubbish and damaged more disks than it repaired.

    The simple solution is to download the ADFs for the AGA version of the game, then write a new set of floppy disks for the game using the utility ADFBlitzer. You can get this utility from Aminet. Just get the game ADFs onto the Amiga, run ADFBlitzer, stick a blank floppy disk in the drive and select the game ADF and it will write it back to disk.

    To get the program and the ADFs onto the Amiga, the easiest method is to use PC formatted 720K floppy disks as WB3 can read them. Or use a null modem cable and a copy of Cloatno's Amiga Explorer, and you can write ADFs straight back to the Amiga's drive from the PC.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  3. #3
    Poor Inactive Member
    slicer1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    51
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Thanks

    I am give it a shot with the diskdoctor as over the years it managed to repair a few of my disks. what is the best psu for a a500 then? I notice my psu has a600 on the underside

    I have seen a golith for sale on ebay.

    who does ADFBlitzer work I downloaded it but it is just files in a zip with no exe.

    Thanks
    A500 1/1
    A1200 1/1

    Project X rules

  4. #4
    Retro Addict Administrator
    My location

    Burger Time Champion, Sonic Champion Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15,464
    Blog Entries
    1
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    14
    ADFBlitzer is an Amiga program you need to run on the Amiga. It won't work on the PC.

    The Goliath PSU is a very good one to get. I have this for my A1200 and it works well. It is a 200W PC PSU converted to work with the Amiga and will supply more than enough power.

    If your A1200 came with an A600 PSU then it is even worse. The A600 PSU is even more under powered than the A1200 one, and only supplies about 18W. You can easily tell if it is an A600 PSU because they are bigger then the A1200 ones and very light to pick up. IN contrast the older A500 PSUs were very heavy.

    If you haven't played a classic game in years, it's never too late to start!


  5. #5
    Poor Inactive Member
    slicer1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    51
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    ok you said you can copy adf to a floppy and then transfer them to a amiga. do they need to be zipped as unzipped they are to big for a 720kb 2dd floppy?

    adf files are all 880kb unzipped

    I tried copying adfblits to a 720kb floppy disk but when it loads in workbrench it has disk ???? as the name and it will not open?

    The golith will work with a A500?

    I think there where other programs like the diskdoctor which where better at fixing floppy can you name any?

    does shadow of the beast 1 work on a a1200 my copy loads and gets into the game but crashs after about a mininte of play

    Thanks
    Last edited by slicer1000; 22nd September 2007 at 18:20.
    A500 1/1
    A1200 1/1

    Project X rules

  6. #6
    Amiga PT user VIP
    My location

    Tiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estoril/Lisbon
    Posts
    2,379
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Hi Slicer1000

    check this topic about 880kb -> 720Kb

    http://forum.classicamiga.com/showthread.php?t=983
    Any question about it just ask.
    A500 - A600 - A1200 - A4000 - CDTV
    www.revistapushstart.com

Similar Threads

  1. A1200 Kickstart 3.0 Vs 3.1
    By Tiago in forum Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd September 2007, 21:52
  2. A1200 Ocs, Ecs, Aga
    By Tiago in forum Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st August 2007, 16:26
  3. CD32 Drive for A1200
    By toomanymikes in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21st August 2007, 23:04
  4. Installing games to A1200 HD
    By toomanymikes in forum Software
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 18th August 2007, 16:58
  5. A1200 projects
    By Harrison in forum Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12th January 2007, 11:15

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright classicamiga.com