PDA

View Full Version : Classic Amiga is Bugged to bits for me??



Kin Hell
16th February 2013, 20:04
Using Windows 7 64Bit with IE9 which is all updated, this site is messed up for me in several annoying ways. Here's a couple of Examples:

905

904

^^^^^^ :lolup:

The only way I can use this forum in a decent manner is to use Chrome. No other forum I use suffers this indignity.
I've cleared cookies, history, everything & even checked my system for corrupt files. No errors were found at all.

Any ideas Dave? :hmmm:

Harrison
16th February 2013, 23:35
Might sound silly to some, but I don't support IE. Don't have time to waste pandering to those that refuse to use a proper browser that actually supports web standards! ;)

Kin Hell
19th February 2013, 07:57
Might sound silly to some, but I don't support IE. Don't have time to waste pandering to those that refuse to use a proper browser that actually supports web standards! ;)

:blink:

Harrison
19th February 2013, 09:28
IE is crap mate. It just refuses to adhere to web standards and doesn't format pages according to CSS standards. With many sites I often end up having to spend days just creating additional layout templates that load in for IE to force it to play ball.

I never understand why anyone still uses it. Not when you have Chrome, Firefox, Opera and others available.

Kin Hell
19th February 2013, 10:01
I hear ya Dave, but this was a fresh install of WinblowZ 7 64Bit that worked fine until a few weeks ago. I could understand file corruption being an issue but everything checks out ok & everything is up to date. What are the requisites for your front end? NET Framework, blah blah?? :hmmm:

Harrison
19th February 2013, 11:24
Nope. Pure XHTML and CSS2. Nothing special. Just shows how bad IE is at parsing/rendering something.

If and when I get some time I will take a look in IE and see if there is a fairly easy solution as it is annoying knowing some visitors are using IE and something is looking messed up for them.

Although I've a site look redesign planned for some point soon.

Kin Hell
19th February 2013, 12:46
I already guessed that Dave, but just thought I'd ask. I have a serious passion of Hatred for NET Framework. AMD jumped on that crap with it being required to have CCC for ur Graphics card at desktop level years ago. Just another pile of bloatware on ur OS ffs.:nuts:

Harrison
19th February 2013, 15:31
And every game you install these days constantly wants to download and update the NET framework, and then DirectX drivers, before you can do anything. Why they can't just check what is already installed, see I have the latest versions and launch the game is beyond me.

They can code a complex game, but can't setup their installers correctly. Mad.

Stephen Coates
19th February 2013, 18:56
Harrison,

Just wondering what sort of percentage of viewers actually use IE?

I've barely touched it in years, but they keep updating it, and I still see it on machines such as those in college.

Kin Hell
19th February 2013, 19:32
And every game you install these days constantly wants to download and update the NET framework, and then DirectX drivers, before you can do anything. Why they can't just check what is already installed, see I have the latest versions and launch the game is beyond me.

They can code a complex game, but can't setup their installers correctly. Mad.

Yeah Dave, but why they want to evoke NET Framework as a front end is only an answer for sh*t coding, which is what happens for doing short cuts. Much like Amiga programmers going outside C='s guidlines of AmigaDOS coding. This is where games wouldn't run on anything over a 68000 CPU. - All that in place & Bill Gates & his cr4p are still pulling it. Hilarious mate, really. :lol:

Harrison
19th February 2013, 20:18
I bet console coders are not sticking to the guidelines either though, and directly to the hardware to get more from the hardware.

Kin Hell
19th February 2013, 20:59
I bet console coders are not sticking to the guidelines either though, and directly to the hardware to get more from the hardware.

Absolutely fella. Much like Sony pulled the Emotion Chip from their later PS3 abortions. Really bugs the cr4p out of me tbh, even more so with the MOD Chip fracas over their entire range. PS3 is shut down entirely, though I do have 3 brand new MOD chips for the PS3 kicking about here somewhere or was it the PS2!? - Age, fading mind, too much JD & Coke over the years, Silver hairs etc.... Just wtf did I do with them?? :hmmm:

Harrison
19th February 2013, 22:45
Whilst from the "consumers" perspective, being able to stick a mod chip in a console and run whatever you "acquire" is brilliant, from a developer and manufacturer perspective Sony has done a brilliant job this generation at securing and maintaining the integrity of their hardware.

Yes, the PS3's OS kernel did eventually get hacked and its secrets (master key) unravelled, but you still need dedication and lots of spare time to bother hacking a PS3 with custom firmware to allow it to run "acquired" games. Plus a PS3 on a pretty old firmware compared to current releases.

I agree it wasn't great that Sony pulled the Emotion Engine Chip from non Japanese first wave PS3's, replacing it with a software emulated one, and then even removing that along with the ability to run a second OS. But it's easy to see that they removed the chip to cut manufacturing costs, and probably removed the second OS ability to free up firmware space, but also to lock the system down more because the threat of hackers using a Linux distro to break into the core PS3 firmware was a possibility.

Kin Hell
19th February 2013, 23:24
Dave , i think we had this discussion on AmiBay many Moons ago:

Sony:

Steaming pile of Shi.........

....pimp mode on....

The MOD Chips I have are definitely Modbo 760 PS2 affairs. - Anyone interested after my pictorial description? 5.00 + P&P a time. - 3 of them available, still Anti-Static sealed. :sly:

....pimp mode off....