PDA

View Full Version : Help with Winuae Elite save crash

spenoultrasonics
30th April 2010, 16:10
Hey guys n' gals,

I am no computer expert so please excuse any noob terms!

I am using Winuae 1.4.2a (have tried many versions) and can play Elite fine. I have the Elite.adf mounted in the DF0 and the custom save disk in DF1, but when i save in game it crashes, any fixes? :hmmm:

Cheers

Pete

PS: I have tried installing Winuae 2.10, but when i loads there are only the boarder images, not the active content of the game. Installed latest DirectX etc, but no joy either there.

Harrison
30th April 2010, 16:55
Is this the original Elite version, Elite Plus, or Frontier: Elite 2?

I can't remember for sure, but Elite might only support one drive. Therefore when you wish to save in the game, try pressing F12, and ejecting the game ADF from DF0 and putting your save game adf in DF0. Then once saved press F12 again and swap them back.

Also, what setup are you using to play the game? Kickstart version, chip and fast ram?

If you haven't tried this setup, from the quick start page of the WinUAE properties select A500 common setup, which uses Kickstart 1.3 and 512KB chip/512KB fast ram. See if that works.

Hope that helps.

If not let us know what happens and we can go from there.

If all else fails you can email the ADF you are using and I will test it from here for you and let you know a working solution.

Merlin
30th April 2010, 19:20
I think Elite can be installed on the hard drive, so maybe putting it on dh0: and using df0: as the save disk might work.

Dragging the icon to a folder should works to install it on dh0: - I know that works on a real Amiga.

Buleste
30th April 2010, 19:30
As Merlin said why not create a hard disk and install WHDLoad and use their install of Elite and give those Thargoids hell.

spenoultrasonics
1st May 2010, 02:26
Hey guys,

Thanks so much fore the great replies