PDA

View Full Version : A500 floppy disks on A1200 and bootblocks

Noelozzy
31st May 2008, 05:27
I have just bought an A1200 . already had a A500

When the 1200 is in 1.3 Kick mode, I only have one game disk that runs correctly:(

It's an Emerald Mine disk that states "runs in any Amiga"

Would this be because the bootblock is a universal one, or will it be more extensive changes to the game???

If its the bootblock, can I simply copy it to other games?

Can I get more universal bootblocks on the web?

Or am I on the wrong track

Noel

Castelle
31st May 2008, 08:54
Welcome to the Classic Amiga Forum Noel,

I can give you some pointers but there are people on here that eat, drink and sleep Amiga's!! (no offence guys) :)
What I am saying is I am no expert.

Can I ask you do you have a hard drive?

Do you have a means to transfer files from another machine, EasyADF, Catweasel, etc.
You have to remember the A1200 is a different beast compared to your old 500, you have the AGA chipset that make ordinary games that used to play in a A500 impossible - this may be caused by a root/boot block (help me out here guys) or simply the AGA chipset won't allow old OCS games to play but have you heard of WHDLoad? http://whdload.de/ or the KGWHD collection? Our nice administrator chappy has uploaded the entire collection on the main site.. Amiga/downloads you will need to login in to download them...

With WHDLoad you will find its the standard on the A1200 these days to get our old favourites to run nowadays on a hard drive.

Also on another note, please support WHDLoad and register your copy if you like it - its only 15 pounds via PayPal.

Whether oldies or newbies, experts and Emulator people - we stick together and help each other out and you will find that out and you have come to the right place. :)

Why don't you write an introduction about yourself in 'member introductions'

Once again, Welcome. :)

Castelle

Puni/Void
31st May 2008, 09:12
Hi there Noelozzy,